Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Banned from the iPad

with 2 comments

After dinner. DD, with a but of a sore throat, has a throat sweet. “Sweet” is a bad word to use.

“Mummy, can I have a sweet?” asks DS.

“A Tic-Tac?” I say generously. He’s already had his after-dinner truck-load of marshmallows and other chewy stuff.

“Okay,” he says.

Yes exactly. Hug it, look after it but try to break it and you won't see it for dust

Yes exactly. Hug it, look after it but try to break it and you won’t see it for dust

I get the Tic-Tac (you think it’s mean to give only one? I was brought up on slices of Mars Bar) and take it to him. World War III explodes on the sofa. DS shoves my hand away.

“Noooo!” he screams. “Not Tic-Tac! I thought you said Kit-Kat! I want a Kit-Kat!”

“No Kit-Kat,” I say peacefully. “You asked for a sweet. Kit-Kat is not a sweet.”

DS, who is playing on the iPad (after-dinner treat, not status quo) slams his fist into the screen.

“Don’t do that!” I raise my voice. “Don’t break my iPad!” This is, after all, my iPad, not his. All my bookmarks are on it.

DS frisbees the iPad onto the sofa and karate-kicks the screen. I grab it back. “Right. That’s it.  You are banned from the iPad!”

You can imagine what happened next. I won’t glorify it by writing it down. Anyway, sometime later, DS sneaks onto my lap.

“I want to be nice now,” he says.

“Sure,” I say, bringing him in for a snuggle. He kisses my cheek. “Best mummy ever,” he says.

“Best boy,” I say.

There’s a pause. He kisses my cheek again, then: “I love you mummy.” Another pause. A flutter of tarantula lashes. “Am I still banned from the iPad?”

“I love you, too. Yes you are.”

Written by mrsdubai

May 7, 2014 at 7:47 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Banning iPads….I feel your pain. Amazing how quickly they forget their existence!!! Stay strong!

    Dubai Mum

    May 7, 2014 at 8:06 pm

  2. but how could you resist the flutter of his eyelids!

    matshila

    May 8, 2014 at 12:26 pm


Leave a Reply

