Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Foot detox patches – do they work?

with 7 comments

When it comes to all things health and beauty, I tend to err on the side of ‘why not give it a try?’ It’s a default position that DH calls being a mug. Still, as I always say, it’s fun to try.  

So, the other day I saw ‘foot detox’ patches on sale at Daiso.

No idea what the writing says - maybe 'you seriously believe this, you mug'?

No idea what the writing says – maybe ‘you seriously believe this, you mug’?

For the uninitiated, they’re tissue paper pouches of herbs that stick to the soles of your feet at night, the idea being that, as you sleep, the herbs draw the toxins out through the soles of your feet so you wake energised, renewed, richer, happier, slimmer, detoxed and, hopefully, having written a best-seller overnight.

To be honest, the idea of detoxing my body, not through drinking a diet of grasshopper sweat, but by sticking patches to my feet and going to sleep sounded good so, for AED 7 (about £1) each, I slung a couple of packs in my basket (along with wrapping paper, ribbons, gift bags, wood-pulp clay and random kitchen gadgets – Daiso really is an Aladdin’s Cave) and thought I’d give it a go.

On the plus side, the pads stuck very well to my feet (so well I had to use baby oil to remove the last residue of glue and paper the next morning) and they didn’t feel odd. If anything, they felt kind of comforting – a bit like a soft reminder of how amazing life was going to be in the morning.

When I unpeeled them the next day, the bit of the patch that had been next to my skin was completely soaked in black sludge. ‘Ooh,’ says I to DH, ‘look at all the toxins! My liver feels lighter already!’ 

Sludgy dark foot patches the following morning. Look at all that caffeine and Merlot!

Sludgy dark foot patches the following morning. Look at all that caffeine and Merlot!

But DH is not impressed. ‘Uh-uh,’ he says, shaking his head. ‘That’s just the herbs reacting to your sweat, darling.’

I suppose it’s not beyond the realms of belief that he could be right. But, and here’s the bit that makes me think there may be something in it, I continued to use the patches and, each morning, they became paler until, about four days later, they were white and dry in the morning.

Is that proof that they work? I certainly felt fab (but the best-seller’s still not written.)

Read more online debate about whether or not these foot patches work.

Written by mrsdubai

November 5, 2013 at 7:31 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would NOT put anything from Daiso on my skin.That is my one rule with Daiso.

    Savannah

    November 6, 2013 at 10:11 am

    • Or consume anything. Do NOT buy herbal “cellulite busting” tea from there! I know it’s really tempting but don’t do it!

      Savannah

      November 6, 2013 at 10:13 am

  2. These patches were really popular a few years and my mom made all of us try them. Same story… dark the first day and then lighter till we all felt detoxed! Only difference is, we didn’t get it from Daiso, however I totally get how tempting that store can be 🙂 I’m kind of the same in Ikea. End up buying all sorts of space saving stuff and then have to find a space to store them since they don’t work with my custom made furniture 😦

    nmaha

    November 7, 2013 at 8:58 am

    • I don’t think the Daiso ones were any worse than the Chinese ones I imported in 2004. At least, I doubt they can do any harm! And maybe some good? Have you done them since?

      mrsdubai

      November 10, 2013 at 8:53 pm

  3. Thanks for the comical twist on your account of your use of this product! It sure did give me a few gigglesnorts. I don’t really buy it either, but my curious self will probably pick it up and try it anyway. Best way to “detox” in my opinion is to juice and give the liver a break for period of time by avoiding certain foods and alcohol. I tried the Japanese Baby Foot product I keep hearing about and much to my surprise, it IS working. Still in process, though. My feet are sloughing away and not pretty right now.

    yalistx

    November 7, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    • Best way to detox is to exercise and sweat out lots of toxins. And supple it with necessary Vitamins.

      Jeremy Ng

      January 3, 2015 at 5:00 pm

  4. Hi,
    Thanks for sharing your view about foot pat5ches. Foot Patches can work on body. They are non-invasive and natural way to detox the body. It can remove stress, toxins form body and fresh our mind. Your experience about foot patches useful and informative to everyone. I really like your blog. I visit one site. If you want more information about Foot patches. Just review this link….. http://www.happynaturaltherapies.com.au

    JanisBrown

    August 7, 2014 at 12:09 pm


Leave a comment