Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Do you know how big your children are?

with one comment

You’d think I’d know how big my children were, not least because I gave birth to them and have since watched them grow almost 24 hours a day for the last five and nine years respectively. Aside from DH, my children are the most important things in my life and not a day goes by without me hugging them, squeezing them, pinching them and tickling them.

You’d think I know how big they are.

The offending shoe. Stylish enough but way too small...

The offending shoe. Stylish enough but way too small…

Still, yesterday I found myself in the shop that stocks the school shoes DD likes to wear (if you read my blog in September, you’ll know how fussy she is about this). Her current pair of Hush Puppies is in the final stages of disintegration – perhaps the down-side of a having a girl who spends her lunch hour turning cartwheels – so I thought I’d nip in and get a new pair. No need for DD to be there, right?  I know she likes the shoe; I’d just buy her size.

But, as I stood there faced with a tower of boxes of her chosen shoe in sizes ranging from 27 to 37, I began to wobble. Were her current shoes a 33 or a 34? Certainly not a 35 – I’m only a 38 myself!

I closed my eyes, stroked the 33 and tried to imagine DD’s little feet in them. Pretty sure that was her current size, I plumped for the 34 and brought it home happy at having achieved another mission without having to drag two hungry children round the mall after school (which, as every mother will know, is more painful than having cocktail sticks inserted under your toenails). I smiled to myself: I was smug with my mission achieved – maybe the shoes would even last into the next school year!

I left the box on DD’s bed as a surprise for her when she got home from school.

“Mummy?” came the shout from upstairs when she found them. “Nice shoes. Who are they for?”

“You!” I called. “Aren’t yours breaking?”

DD appeared. She knows how I hate shouted inter-floor conversations, even over the mezzanine balcony.

“But mummy,” she said, handing over the box. “These are two sizes smaller than my current shoes. How am I supposed to wear them? I’m a 36.”

So, the answer: No, I have no idea how big my children are. How about you?

Written by mrsdubai

March 12, 2014 at 5:48 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was a size 40 at 10 and stayed there (luckily…), but my mother, a size 38 herself, never wanted to believe it 😀

    Simone**

    Simone

    March 14, 2014 at 1:31 am


Leave a Reply

