Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Leaving, on a jet plane

with 4 comments

One of the nice things about travelling to Malaysia from Dubai with small children is the time difference. With Malaysia being four hours ahead of Dubai, it’s possible to keep the children almost on Dubai-time and cadge yourself some spectacular lie-ins in the process. 

I'm leaving - on a jet plane, don't know when I'll be back again... a 15-year love affair with Dubai but it still makes me cry

I’m leaving – on a jet plane, don’t know when I’ll be back again… a 15-year love affair with Dubai but the memory still makes me cry

Put the kids to bed at 10pm local-time (6pm Dubai time), and they’ll sleep till it least 9am – if you go to bed at 11pm, that means an almost unheard-of 10-hour sleep.

Talk about bliss with bells on.

(Plus minimal kiddie jetlag when you come back to Dubai – what a bonus!)

Anyway, this time schedule meant that the children were able – for the first time ever, as I’m very strict about bedtimes – to accompany us out to dinner in restaurants every night of our holiday. Actually, I’m not sure if that’s a blessing, but…

It was quite an experience for them, especially for aspiring popstrel DD, who was blown away by the idea of having a chap perform live music to us every night while we ate our dinner (you forget what it’s like to be a kid – you so forget).

Anyway, one night the resident singer was strumming his guitar as he launched into a soulful version of Peter, Paul & Mary’s “I’m leaving, on a jet plane” – DH immediately looked at me over his mountain of chicken satay as he knows the effect the song has on me.

“DD,” I said, keen to teach her some family history. “This is a very special song for me. My best friends – my BFFs – played it for me at my leaving party when daddy and I were leaving London to move to Dubai 15 years ago. I can’t hear it without remembering that night when I said goodbye to my friends.”

DD looked at me. For a minute I thought we had a connection. Then…

“Whaddever,” she said, and turned back to Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Part 200).

Kids, eh.

Written by mrsdubai

February 27, 2013 at 9:14 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hate traveling to a country which has an advanced timing than Dubai. I’m a very light sleeper and whenever I feel like people are already out and about outside my room or I sense a slight hint of light outside, my eyes seem to just automatically wake up. That shouldn’t be a problem if only I can adjust my body clock as well to sleep at a reasonable local time and not Dubai’s later time.

    Good that it worked well for you though and you were able to get enough sleep, those rare times. 🙂

    Pinay Flying High

    February 28, 2013 at 3:09 am

  2. Kids, eh? Not a sentimental bone in their bodies! ;D

    Ellie at Emerald Pie

    February 28, 2013 at 3:39 am

  3. I love Malaysia, I had such a good time there last September!
    http://www.thepinkcashmere.com

    sophie

    March 3, 2013 at 2:17 am

  4. That song does me in every time! Must be all the moves and goodbyes, you’d think I’d be immune by now!

    Was Living Down Under

    July 12, 2013 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

