Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Who needs an address when you’ve been Makani’d?

with 8 comments

I may or may not have mentioned in the past how we don’t really have postal addresses in Dubai. If you want to receive mail, you have to have a PO Box, be it at a post office or, more recently and only in some areas, attached to your front wall. Even then, the mail is not addressed to the house, but to the PO Box.

Part of the reason for this was because many of the older houses and streets in Dubai didn’t really have numbers and names. Giving directions to visitors has always been more a case of “Turn left at the rubbish bins, go over two speed bumps and turn right at the purple bougainvillea – not the limp-looking one; the one that’s really in bloom right now? Yeah… usually there’s a tabby cat sitting next to it?” Makani

Which of course is a little worrying when you think about how an ambulance, for example, might find your home in a night-time emergency. I can just see the driver now, hopping out of the ambulance to check the bougainvillea flowers: “Are they purple or hot-pink? It’s hard to tell in the dark… mate, have you got a torch?”

But all this is now academic. Today there was a knock on my door and, though the peephole, I could see it was Security plus another man in uniform. Stifling the urge to run out the back door as fast as I could, I opened it to learn that Dubai is now a Smart City and that physical addresses are “so, like, 2014”.

Oh no, forget “Street This, Villa That” – we are now all to have a Makani number. The whole of Dubai, from ambulance drivers to taxis, pizza delivery boys and all my friends, will download the Makani App on their smart phones and then all I have to do is give my visitors my 10-digit Makani number and they will be directed via GPS to within one metre of my front door. One metre! Yeah, baby! I’m ordering pizza tonight! And it’d better not get lost!

Written by mrsdubai

January 14, 2015 at 6:49 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so glad I found your posts especially since we are coming to work for a year in Dubai. The image of you running out the door when the security officer arrived sounds like something I would do, all while snatching the rest of my family as I went.. Hilarious!

    paulacole1

    January 19, 2015 at 5:23 pm

  2. Nice post

    Chihuahua

    February 17, 2015 at 9:37 am

  3. Wow that is really high tech services Makani number will be an important part for the Dubai people.

    Aiden Smith

    March 26, 2015 at 1:02 pm

  4. I hope that it will be work in Dubai. But Makani App does not use Google map! This is a big problem!

    Beontop

    June 3, 2015 at 11:21 pm

  5. Hi there, I just spent a very entertaining few days reading through all of your old posts in light of an upcoming move to Dubai – SO much more fun to do this than the other one million things I should probably be doing to prepare! I hope you’ll come back to posting again soon though!

    Amy

    August 3, 2015 at 10:57 am

  6. Hi Mrs. Dubai

    Not strictly a comment as such, more just a request for contact. (but I still enjoy your writing! 🙂 )

    But, back to the point – what’s the best way to get in touch with you?
    Thanks!
    Food Sheikh

    Food Sheikh

    August 12, 2015 at 3:51 pm

  7. its new initiative for geographical tracking, lets how it actually help everybody.


Leave a Reply

