Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

How important is a “thank you”?

with 3 comments

One of my memories my childhood Christmas Days is spending the food-sated afternoons not watching television but writing my thank-you letters. My parents were strict: a list was kept as gifts were opened, and thank-you letters were hand-written and dispatched before New Year. thank you

I was a stationery-obsessed writer-freak girl: I loved it.

But these days, thank-you letters have largely gone the way of Atari consoles and Pac-Man: they’re rarer than snowmen in the desert – and all the more precious for it. I can count on one hand the number of people who insist their children hand-write proper thank-you notes to us here in Dubai.

But I’m not fussy. I’ll take my thanks however it comes. For me, a thank-you is equally valid whether it comes in person, via phone, email, Facebook in-box, SMS or even What’s App. All I want is a small acknowledgement that the gift is received; a nod to the thought and effort that went into procuring it.

And what I do know is that those who have sent thank-you notes end up with even more thoughtful gifts the following year. It’s a lovely feeling to buy gifts for friends and family; even more so when you know the recipient truly appreciates them.

Written by mrsdubai

December 30, 2014 at 10:04 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely post. I second everything in it 🙂 And it reminded me that I needed to say thanks as well – to you.

    Back in May you tweeted about getting One Direction tickets for their concert in Dubai next year. And if I hadn’t seen that, I wouldn’t have known about the show…and seven months later, my daughter wouldn’t have spontaneously combusted with excitement when she found out that we’d bought her tickets for Christmas (yes, we kept it secret all that time).

    From little acorns, and all that.

    So: thank you! Daughter would add her thanks too, but she’s still bouncing off the walls…

    littlecity

    December 30, 2014 at 3:21 pm

  2. Same memories here! Present opening was strictly controlled and everything meticulously recorded so I could spend the next week writing thank you notes. I’ve really tried to do the same with my boys but they open everything so fast, I can’t write the list fast enough! Sigh! So then I end up doing a generic ‘thanks so much for the present’ email, which just feels so inadequate after being trained as a child to refer to the pressie, make a nice comment about it, etc! Thanks so much for keeping us entertained with all the great blogs 🙂 xox

    Circles in the Sand

    December 31, 2014 at 3:25 am


Leave a Reply

