Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The Dubai Rugby 7s

with one comment

I took the children to the Family Day at the Dubai Rugby 7s last week.  It was the first time I’ve been to the rugby in 10 years. A decade ago, the Sevens for me involved little rugby, a lot of beer and a lot of crazy dancing at the concert after.

Grown women ripping into each other. Can't think why I never played rugby [Pic: www.thenational.ae]

Grown women ripping into each other. Can’t think why I never played rugby [Pic: http://www.thenational.ae]

I can’t tell you how different it was when I went with the children. I was driving, for a start, which meant no falling-down juice. And we sat in the family stand, which meant we had a great view of the rugby without having to deal with the sort of drunken high jinks that I remember from Sevenses past.

What surprised me, though, was how much the children enjoyed watching the international women’s matches. They each picked a team and got right into it. We learned that each try is worth five points and that, after a try, the person who scored gets a chance to ‘convert’ by kicking the ball through the goal, which can give two extra points. If this was news to me at the ripe old age of 43, it was even bigger news to DD.

‘Aw,’ she said, after a player scored another try and failed the conversion. ‘Rugby’s such a nice game.’

‘Really?’ I asked. We’d spent much of the afternoon watching with our hands over our mouths as grown women literally ripped each other’s limbs off down on the pitch. ‘Nice?’

‘Yes! It’s not like netball where you have to get a goal to get a point,’ she said. ‘In rugby they give you five points just for trying!’

Written by mrsdubai

December 9, 2014 at 12:06 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi! I have read your blog couple of times and I am really keen on it. I don’t know is this a right place to ask translation, but could you tell me how to write “prayer” in arabic? I would like yo have tattoo which means prayer. Thank you if you can help me! ❤

    Mary

    December 14, 2014 at 7:54 pm


Leave a Reply

