Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The public shaming of Mrs D (well, in the gym)

with 2 comments

I have a confession: I’m Mrs Dubai – and I joined a gym.

I’ll just wait for you get up off the floor where you fell in shock that your sauvignon blanc-loving exercise-phobe of a blogger is actually considering Lycra… (actually, no Lycra is involved: that would be too cruel).

I do appreciate that I haven’t set foot in a gym since 2001 (seriously) but there comes a point in a 40-something woman’s life when she looks at the wobbly thighs and has to decide: is this it? Am I going to slide into my late 40s in loose-fit M&S slacks, or am I going to continue buying bikinis?

So I decided to make friends with the cross-trainer (it’s a machine, DH); to acquaint myself with the treadmill, the rowing machine and the stair-climber. I decided to start doing weights. And you know what? It’s going well.

The public-shaming board - you'll never catch me loafing in the 70s

The public-shaming board – the pressure! The pressure!

I credit my success in the gym – and by “success” I mean the fact that I’ve actually been four times – to the system of public-shaming that the gym utilises.

They give you a heart-rate monitor and, should you choose to register it, whenever you wear it in the vicinity of the gym, your exercise stats are displayed on public screens for all to snigger at.

Under your name, it tells the entire population of the gym what your heart rate is, how many calories you’ve burned and, crucially, how much effort you’re putting in so they’ll know – they’ll know! – if you’re just strolling gently along reading the Daily Mail on your iPhone or actually giving the cross-trainer some serious wellie.

Furthermore, I think there’s a shame – no, definitely there’s a public shame – in leaving the cardio area until you’ve burned at least eight fingers’ worth of Kit-Kat calories….

You didn’t hear this from me but, being quite a competitive person who likes to exercise alone, I think I could just have found the motivation I need to turn that 5kg of extra body fat into 5kg of muscle… I’ll keep you posted.

Written by mrsdubai

November 3, 2014 at 4:56 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yo8u must have been at Fitness first. Try taking a crazy name like C3PO or R2D2

    Sanjay kupur

    November 4, 2014 at 12:49 pm

  2. It takes a lot of courage to step into a gym and to keep coming back, so bravo! We shouldn’t have to think that we’re embarrassing ourselves for wanting to get fit, but sadly it’s a common perception. I also feel that while exercising is a great motivation to stay healthy, there’s not enough awareness on the eating culture…especially here in Dubai, with new fast food chains opening up at every corner and the rate of obesity continuing to rise. No gold incentive alone is going to tackle the issue on a large scale.

    There’s been a campaign going on recently that ask those very questions, with emphasis for the need for strict regulations on said chains, have a look and I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on it: http://www.circuitfactory.ae/suncity

    Maha

    November 16, 2014 at 1:51 pm


Leave a Reply

