Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

“There’s nothing worse than ‘Fashion Mum’!”

with 3 comments

So I was flicking through my Twitter feed at breakfast this morning when DD loomed behind me (see what I did there?). Someone had re-Tweeted a pic of some Autumn-Winter ‘14 looks from a shop I never set foot in: H&M. (The fact that I don’t ever set foot in H&M is probably the reason why I spend way too long each morning wondering if I’ve started to look too ‘mumsy’ instead of, well, how are you supposed to look when you’re a 40-something  work-from-home mum, anyway?).

Yes, I can see me striding through the desert into school in the right-hand outfit... while DD hides behind the lockers

Yes, I can see me striding into school in the right-hand outfit… while DD gets a taxi home

“Nice,” I said, quite liking one of the looks in particular, and definitely liking the new season’s colour palette.

DD peered at the pictures on my phone. ‘Which one?’ she asked, in the type of voice she might use if I said she was getting boiled duck poo on toast for supper.

“That one.” I pointed to my favourite look: a sleeveless top with ballooning silk pants tucked into knee-high boots. Although undeniably fashion-victimy, there was something elegant about it; a hint of the equestrian and it was – to be honest – the closest I’m likely to get to a horse these days.

“Mummeee!” said DD, sounding as if she’d actually tasted the boiled duck poo. “Promise me one thing: If you buy it, just please don’t pick me up from school wearing it. There’s nothing worse than Fashion Mum!”

Written by mrsdubai

September 9, 2014 at 10:55 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m with M on this one!

    amanda

    September 9, 2014 at 7:20 pm

  2. I love all the outfits. I would wear them with no hesitation and full confidence and wouldn’t give a care in the world what people say. Wear what you want and wear it with confidence, the ones that look at you in a funny way are the ones wishing they looked like you.

    Aline

    September 9, 2014 at 8:57 pm


Leave a Reply

