Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

A home truth about swimming

with one comment

‘Why do you make me go swimming if you don’t like it yourself?’ DD asked me this morning.

‘I love swimming!’ I said.

'Hi... I'm Mrs Dubai and I have very fine hair... prrr!'

‘Hi… I’m Mrs Dubai and I have very fine hair… prrr!’

‘No you don’t. You never swim properly,’ she said. ‘You just float about on my noodle trying not to get your hair wet.’

‘Ah,’ I said. ‘Good point. I do these days – but when I was your age I loved swimming. I was under the water all the time, doing handstands and roly-polys and leaping off the diving boards. I was the house swimming captain! Bet you didn’t know that?’

‘Wow,’ she breathed. ‘So what happened?’

‘Well,’ I said, thinking she’s old enough for a bit of honesty.  ‘I started dying my hair and the chemicals in the pool will wreck the chemicals in my hair so I just find it easier not to get it wet.’

‘Have you heard of swimming caps?’ she asked. Cheeky monkey.

‘Another good point,’ I said. ‘But unless I had wet hair that was full of conditioner, the sticky rubber of the cap would break my hair. I have very fine hair, you know.’

At this, DD almost fell off her chair laughing. ‘Mummy!’ she snorted. ‘It’s so rude to boast! Did no-one tell you that?’ She did an impression of me, swaggering about the room: ‘Oh hello! I’m mummy. I’ve got very fine hair!’

I let her laugh a bit more – before I told her she’d got fine hair, too.

 

Written by mrsdubai

September 4, 2014 at 9:48 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha! Fine Hair! I can boast too!

    abgeeney

    September 6, 2014 at 12:06 am


Leave a Reply

