Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The tooth fairy bites the dust – but where does that leave Santa?

with 4 comments

If I thought I was pushing my luck as the tooth fairy last time DD lost a tooth, I was really stretching it when she lost her first molar yesterday. I was toying with the idea of coming clean rather than going through the agony of creeping into her room and fishing under her pillow without waking her, but then she brought me a little note:

‘Dear tooth fairy,’ it said. ‘I’ve lost another tooth. It’s a special one: a molar! What do you do with all the teeth? Please write back as I love getting your notes.’

Fare ye well Miss Tooth Fairy - we got away with it for four years

Fare ye well Miss Tooth Fairy – we got away with it for four years

How could I disappoint her?

So I wrote a little note back to DD, turning my hand-writing into fairy-writing as best I could (if you’re wondering, the TF grinds up the teeth to make fairy dust, which she sprinkles on herself to make herself fly – right?).

Then I did a dummy-run into DD’s bedroom to check she was properly asleep. Convinced that she was, I slipped my hand under her pillow, did the deed, and skidaddled out of the room, relieved.

Fast-forward to the next morning. The bedroom door opened and DD came in brandishing the note from the tooth fairy.

‘Did she come?’ I asked brightly.

My daughter stood by the bed and looked me in the eye.

‘It’s you, isn’t it? You’re the tooth fairy?’

And what do you do? She’s nearly 10. I don’t want to make her doubt my word when it comes to Santa – a question I know must soon follow.

I needed to pick my battles. I went for credibility. ‘Yes,’ I said. ‘Sorry darling.’

‘It’s Santa next,’ said DH sadly after DD had left the room. ‘You know that question’s going to come this year.’

I sighed. I don’t want Santa to stop. I love being Santa.

Later that day, DD and I talked about the tooth fairy.

‘Are you horribly disappointed?’ I asked.

‘No,’ she said. ‘Not as long as I keep getting the money.’ A pause. ‘But now I know why you don’t get presents from Santa.’

I stopped dead in my tracks. ‘Why’s that?’ I asked carefully. Was this it? Was Santa to bite the dust on the same day as the tooth fairy?

‘Because Santa only gives presents to people who’ve been good,’ she said. ‘And you’ve been lying. Tut-tut, mummy.’

Written by mrsdubai

August 14, 2014 at 6:48 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a sweet story

    francis

    August 15, 2014 at 9:45 am

  2. So cute, Before finishing the story, I was expecting her to say something like that, smart young lady. No Santa Gift for you mama!!!

    Mahi

    August 15, 2014 at 4:26 pm

  3. haha, that was a great story, I’ll remember it for when my daughters are older!

    sythe

    August 24, 2014 at 11:29 am

  4. wow, great post, thanks for sharing! I was in Dubai mid June 2014. I was there for just under a week but could have easily stayed for longer

    Check out my time in Dubai http://whereverthesunis.wordpress.com/2014/07/12/yes-please-yes-please-2/


Leave a Reply

