Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The night-time intruder

with 3 comments

Last night I was woken at 3am by the sound of tapping. Tck-tck-tck-tck. Tck-tck. Tck. I jumped up, rushed to the landing and listened to see where it was coming from and my worst fears were confirmed: it was coming from the patio doors that face onto the garden and the park.

There’s been a spate of burglaries in our community in recent months. Our next-door neighbours were burgled – the thieves came in through the patio doors that face onto the garden and the park. This sounded like someone trying to pick the lock.

Thank goodness our compound is watched by security

Thank goodness our compound is watched by security

I woke DH: “Someone’s trying to break into the house!”

DH jumped up, rushed to the landing. We listened together. Tck. Tck-tck. Tck-tck. Clearly from the patio doors.

“I need a weapon. I need something to threaten him with,” whispered DH looking around for the baseball bat we don’t own.

“He’s not going to be armed,” I whispered. “This isn’t London. Take a photo. That’ll scare him.”

Tck-tck. Tck. Tck-tck. Tck. Tck-tck-tck.

“Stay here,” whispered DH, my hero, and crept off down the stairs. There was a long silence. My heart was pounding. Should I go down? I waited. Then I heard spraying. Lots of spraying. Was DH knocking out the intruder with kitchen surface spray?

He came back upstairs.

“He won’t be bothering us again,” he said. “You can call Security in the morning. Good night.”

“OMG,” I said. “What happened?”

“Burglar? It was a cricket, darling. Trapped behind the shutters. Dead now. Night.”

Written by mrsdubai

June 2, 2014 at 5:48 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lol!!

    thevillagealchemist

    June 3, 2014 at 10:31 am

  2. Hi there, I found your blog by chance, as I’m new to the blogging scene. Just wanted to say I love your blog but the best post was ‘the night time intruder’. I was sitting in my study reading through your blog and couldn’t stop laughing at this post. It is something that we all talk about but, thank God, haven’t experienced it. The way you described the events happening was so funny and so real. Thanks for sharing. alineplus3.blogspot.ae

    Aline

    September 4, 2014 at 3:56 pm


Leave a Reply

