Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The cashmere sweater

with 7 comments

I’ll be making a short trip to London in a few days’ time. Yes, I know: so far, so blah. But the joy, for me, of this trip to London is that a) it’s sans enfants (not that I don’t love them, but… ) and b) that it’s only for 3.5 days, which means lots of space in my rather large suitcase for shopping.

But – oh, the irony – I’m going for a few reasons so, in my three days, I won’t have a lot of time for shopping of the intensive variety. Instead, I’m doing what any self-respecting girl would do and shopping online now, and having everything delivered to my poor mum (sorry, neighbours, put your net curtains down: he’s a courier, not a gigolo).

I’m using my empty-case trip as a chance to get ahead on the annual shopping so there’s less to carry back in the summer. Alongside the school shorts, the school socks, the BareMinerals makeup and the Playmobil Hotel (less than half price), I stumbled upon a new cashmere sweater on one of my favourite sites: www.purecollection.com

Shall I, shan't I? What to do

Shall I, shan’t I? What to do

Now, I know there’s not a lot of use for cashmere in Dubai. We might wear it a couple of days a year (and I already have two cashmere sweaters) but we are going to Cornwall this summer and I have no delusions about the weather there – a new cashmere sweater in fresh, tri-coloured pastels, natch, is just what I’ll need while the rest of the UK is skipping about in a bikini.

So, I look at this sweater. I imagine me wearing it with my white jeans; I imagine throwing it on in the morning; having a cream tea in it; jumping in a helicopter to the Scilly Isles in it; going to the pub in it; slipping it over my swimwear when the temperature dips below 32C on the beach. You get the picture: I really like the sweater.

It looks fabulous on the lithe, blonde model on the website. But then I have to ask myself: does it really translate to a middle-aged housewife in Dubai? We have the odd cold day here, but would I ever really do anything more than take out the sweater, stroke it and put it back in its tissue paper-lined drawer?

In another life, I think, dear sweater… in another life.

Written by mrsdubai

May 12, 2014 at 9:01 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hello dear,
    would it be possible to get in touch with you in some way please?
    I just moved to the uae ( Sharjah) a month ago with three girls (6,4,2) and would be grateful for some helpful advice.
    Thank you
    Sarah

    Sarah

    May 13, 2014 at 12:28 am

  2. Hi, may I know whether I can get 1000 thread count Egyptian cotton bed sheets in dubai? Thanks in advance

    • Goodness it’s a stretch from shopping online for cashmere sweaters to getting 1,000 thread count sheets here. I have seen 600-thread count but not 1,000. You could try Bloomingdales and Harvey Nicks… ?

      mrsdubai

      May 14, 2014 at 3:49 pm

      • Thank you for responding. 🙂 will try.

        Jane

        May 15, 2014 at 9:46 am

  3. Hi, may I know whether I can get 1000 thread count Egyptian cotton bed sheets in dubai? Thanks in advance.

  4. Thanks for great work. Best wishes for your future endeavour…
    http://xcltechnologies.com


Leave a Reply

