Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The influence of parents

with one comment

They say children learn by watching their parents so I try to set a good example to DD and DS. I say “please” and “thank you”, for example. I eat my dinner nicely and I put my clothes away at the end of the day (or each time I change, to be fair, which can sometimes be three times a day).

Sometimes, as I wade through discarded items of school uniform strewn en route to the bathroom, or pick wet towels up off my bed, I wonder if any of it goes into their sweet little heads.

And then I saw a picture DS, now age 5, drew at school, and I realised just how much influence I have over him. The picture was of a fire-fighter – notice anything peculiar?

Yes... a lady fire-fighter wearing high heels and carrying a handbag that looks suspiciously like my brown Carolina Herrera!

Yes… a lady fire-fighter wearing high heels and carrying a handbag that looks suspiciously like my brown Carolina Herrera

Written by mrsdubai

May 1, 2014 at 4:29 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Influence we do. My worry is they choice on what to take. Worst ones are easier to imitate. And parents do the firefighting.

    takelight

    May 4, 2014 at 6:22 pm


Leave a Reply

