Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The housewife’s alcohol licence

with 6 comments

It’s that time of year again.

Having waded my way through two passport renewals, Gerlie’s visa and ID card renewal, DD’s visa and ID card renewal, the PO Box renewal and the hoopla that is trying to amend the perennial mistakes on the car insurance renewal forms, it’s time to renew DH’s alcohol licence.

Who needs a drink anyway? [Image courtesy designerscrapbook.blogspot.com]

Who needs a drink anyway? [Image courtesy designerscrapbook.blogspot.com]

Only this year there’s a problem: Apparently, I can no longer use DH’s alcohol licence. I need one all of my own.

If you live anywhere but the UAE, you may think: fantastic – get one!

But, if you live here you’ll understand straight away what a problem that is. I’m officially a “housewife” with neither salary nor status – so to get an alcohol licence in my own name involves an Awful Lot of Paperwork.

There’s a “letter of no objection” from DH, for a start.  Humiliating, much? Then there’s a certificate from DH’s office saying how much he earns (there’s a formula for how much money you’re allowed to spend on alcohol in relation to how much money you earn. Who said we’d never use our algebra?). Then there’s the form itself, which requires a stamp from DH’s office. A photo. A passport copy. A visa copy. A National ID card number. And a copy of the first page of the sales agreement of the house we bought in 2004 (seriously! For once I kid you not).

So I gathered those of the documents that I could get hold of – in duplicate, for DH and for me – and presented them to DH in a folder, a Post-It note explaining which signatures, stamps, certificates and so on I needed from him in order to submit the two applications. DH picked up a pen to sign the letter of no objection, then put it down again.

“Do you really need your own alcohol licence?” he asked, a glint in his eye.

“Yes,” I said, “Unless you’re willing to do all the alcohol shopping.” I currently buy all the wine, beer, cider and spirits we need for entertaining as well as for my own personal medication enjoyment (DH drinks about a pint of cider a month, if that).

DH rubbed his hands together.  “What’s it worth?” he asked, suppressing a smile.

I may have whimpered.

“Weren’t you planning to stop drinking on weekdays, anyway?” he asked, eyes twinkling.

I did my best Vicki Pollard impression: “Yeah but no but yeah but no but… that’s not the point!”

I’m leaving the forms on the kitchen counter tonight and… well, we’ll see if he takes them in the morning.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL this seriously cracked me up! Good luck with all that 🙂

    powderandpatchouli

    April 29, 2014 at 5:43 pm

  2. He he he he …

    DH

    April 29, 2014 at 5:44 pm

  3. Well, my guess is that he will do it.

    takelight

    April 29, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    • He did! He did!! But he forgot the salary certificate…

      mrsdubai

      May 1, 2014 at 4:22 pm

      • I guess this will not be a long follow up. Max u need to do is remind, repeatedly, if necessary. bringing 1 is much easier way out than to face reminder s …. lol..

        takelight

        May 4, 2014 at 6:19 pm

  4. Ahaha, I was sure he would do it 🙂
    And it reminds me of my time in Dubai. I never bothered to get a licence myself, mainly because I didn’t know i could get one 🙂 My ex-husband had his which we used whenever needed and since we had a constant flow of guests, we told them all to bring into the country what they were allowed to. So in the end, we had enough because of that.
    Isn’t there also an official limit as to how much booze you can have in the house? I remember I was always a bit worried if we had too much.
    And on some day trip we went to a hole-in-the-wall, the only place I would get After Eight liqueur, which I really loved.
    And the renewal of documents ain’t no fun 🙂

    Simone

    May 2, 2014 at 6:58 pm


Leave a Reply

