Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Swimming season

with one comment

It’s nearly five years since we had a pool put into our garden. When people who don’t have a pool come over, they always as the same question: “Do you actually use it?”

Hello pool! It’s been a while!

It’s a valid question, I suppose, but the answer is a resounding yes.

We use the pool a lot, and in many different ways. Even when it’s too cold for swimming (or too hot, yes that happens)  we look at it – a pool isn’t just a recreational “space” (get me, catching on with the trendy lingo), it’s a visual and auditory feature, too:  floodlit at night, it’s the focal point of parties and dinners and I also love nothing more than an afternoon nap on the sofa to the accompaniment of the water feature sploshing.

But I suppose what people mean when they ask if we use the pool is something along the lines of: how many times a week do you and the children actually put on your swimwear and jump into the water? Well, DH and the children do it regularly for a large swathe of the year.

But me, I’m more particular: while I’m often up for a paddle or a sunbathe on the pool’s shallow “gin & tonic deck”, for me to get fully immersed there has to be a combination of the perfect air and water temperatures. It’s no good heating the water to 34˚C if you’re getting out into an air temperature of 18˚C.

My ideal conditions for complete submersion are an air temperature of 38˚C or more, coupled with a water temperature of 32-34˚C – and I’m delighted to report that we’ve just reached those conditions.

I hereby declare swimming season open!

Written by mrsdubai

April 25, 2014 at 10:16 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello! Great blog, I couldn’t find your contact details on here, could you kindly drop me an email as I have something that may be of interest to you & your readers 🙂

    Hope to chat soon!

    Kind Regards,
    Sarah

    Sarah

    April 27, 2014 at 12:53 pm


Leave a Reply

