Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The school run

with 2 comments

I appreciate that in yesterday’s blog I may have sounded a little bitter about the distance I have to drive to and from school each day – sometimes up to three times a day.

It’s actually up to 138kms a day. Just on school runs.

It’s my fantasy that my children can cycle to our local school, which is 2kms away. But that won’t happen unless my husband ditches his job and gets a job working for Emirates (the children of EK employees have priority at my community school).

Anyway, today DS was telling me how much he loves me. We like the book ‘I

The school run - further than the Moon and back

School – further than the Moon and back

love you to the Moon and back’ and it’s become a bit of a family joke to make inter-galactic declarations about how much we love each other.

So tonight I said, ‘I love you to the Moon and back infinite times, plus to the Sun and back and then to Abu Dhabi and back. Then I love you to England and back every day for the rest of my life.’

Impressive, no? But DS trumped me with the ultimate accolade.

‘I love you…’ He said, struggling for words that were big enough, distances that were great enough… ‘uh… to school and back.’

It’s not just me, then.

Written by mrsdubai

April 2, 2014 at 9:49 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, interesting there.

    I work for EK and Im just wondering that where could these kids benefits come in? 🙂

    Anyway, good to read 🙂

    Irfan

    April 4, 2014 at 4:01 am

  2. Enjoy reading your blog. Have blogrolled you 🙂 so that you show up to my readers when they hit my page
    Stay Happy

    Anjaan

    April 20, 2014 at 6:12 pm


Leave a Reply

