Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The best mother’s day gift ever

with 2 comments

I’m not great at buying mother’s day gifts for my mum. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t forget – I just never know what to get so end up plumping for a big bouquet of M&S flowers and a card.

This year, though, the solution fell into my lap before I even realised mother’s day was approaching. The thing my mum misses most about us living abroad is the children. I email her photos but all she can do is open them on her computer; she never manages to print them out. She’s not on Facebook.

Grandparents Frame - Facebook for OAPs

The Grandparents Frame App – an easy way to share photos with technological dinosaurs (or anyone, actually).

Sometimes I send her prints but, even then, she misses out on seeing the silly snaps I take to mark our progress through the year: Book Day costumes, International Day costumes, Egyptian Day, Roman Day; the children on Christmas morning; DS winning the obstacle race on sport’s day; DD heading off to camp with a backpack bigger than herself; an afternoon messing about on the beach.

But not anymore. My gift to Mum this year is a digital photo frame. Not just any digital photo frame, but the “Grandparents’ Frame” from Johnson’s Baby. It consists of a Sony digital photo frame (or any compatible WiFi, email-enabled digital frame), which Mum will take back to England with her, and the Grandparents Frame App, which I’ll keep on my phone here in Dubai.

I’ve already paired my App to Mum’s frame, which means that I can now send the latest photos direct from my phone or computer straight to Mum’s digital frame in England at the tap of a button. All she needs to do to see the latest pictures is make a coffee, switch on her frame and wait to see the photos I’ve sent. Beautiful technology for the un-technologically minded. I love it.

Go to www.johnsonsbabyme.com/grandparents-frame for more information. Download the App via the Apple or Android app store. 

 

Written by mrsdubai

March 30, 2014 at 6:13 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is a beautiful solution. I love that feeling of family love traveling around the world. The design satisfies gives the tech ‘burden’ to the family member who’s most comfortable with tech. Thanks for sharing the idea!

    Ekanem

    March 31, 2014 at 8:13 pm

  2. This is fantastic.

    Shehzeen Rehman

    April 1, 2014 at 11:07 am


Leave a Reply

