Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Cavalia – come, see horses

with 2 comments

cavalia

Not a seahorse in sight

My mum arrives tonight. Given we’ve lived here several hundred years and my mum is a fan neither of shopping nor of lolling about in the sun, I take a few minutes before she arrives each year to draft a list of new things we can do together between the school runs.  To be fair, in that respect, Dubai is a great place to live: every year there’s at least a spectacular new mall, the tallest tower in the world, a new dinosaur skeleton, a new theme park, park or garden, a new ski slope, a new island or a new five-star attraction of some sort.

On my list for this year is a visit to Bastakiya (she really loves that old part of town), a visit to the Sheikh Zayed mosque in Abu Dhabi and a dinner overlooking Dubai Fountains – I’ll time the dinner to coincide with Emaar’s Festival of Light, which will see artistic light installations light up the gorgeous Downtown area.

I’m also going to ask mum if she’d like to see the international horse extravaganza Cavalia, which is on while she’s here. Since she saw and loved the Hoofbeatz Al Saheel show a couple of years ago, I think she’ll like it but I’d rather get her confirmation before I buy the tickets.

“But we have to go!” said DS, when he heard me discussing it with DH. “My class has to go.”

“Why?” I asked.

“Because on the radio, when the ad’s on, it says, ‘Cavalia – come, Seahorses.’”

 

Written by mrsdubai

March 19, 2014 at 7:48 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In Bastakiya, try and drop in at Mawaheb…an art studio for adults with special needs. IMHO, the happiest place in Dubai 🙂 The artists are thrilled to welcome tourists/ guests and their joy and affection is something very, very special.

    Viji Ram

    March 28, 2014 at 5:54 pm


Leave a Reply

