Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The love of a son

leave a comment »

“Mummy, you’re the best mummy in this town,” says DS during his bedtime cuddle.

“Town?”

For how much longer will the boy-cuddles last?

For how much longer will the boy-cuddles last?

It’s dark but I raise an eyebrow. Only the best in town? Seriously? I cooked his favourite chili tonight; I’m making chocolate cupcakes with milk chocolate tops tomorrow; I drove 138kms to and from school today for various things. As far as he knows, my days are dedicated to him and his sister.

“Best mummy on EARTH!” he says, squeezing me tighter.

“You’re the best son in the universe,” I say.

“What’s a universe?”

“Not just the earth, but the Moon and stars and planets and all the space in between,” I say. DS cuddles into me, his arms tight around my neck. I kiss his peachy little cheek. He’s nearly five but he still smells of baby. It’s a tender moment.

“You’re the best mummy in the UNIVERSE!” he says. “But now can you get off me? I need to go to sleep.”

Written by mrsdubai

March 18, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

