Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

There’s always take-away

with 4 comments

DH and I hosted a dinner party the other night. There were 20 people coming so – don’t judge me, you know I’m no foodie – I had it catered. In one way, it was nice because there wasn’t much for me to do besides make sure the tables were laid out nicely and the garden looked pretty, but that didn’t stop me from worrying, at about 4pm, that the chef might not turn up – not to mention actually bring the food I’d ordered.

Chef Krishna with his tandoori oven

Thankfully Chef Krishna turned up with his tandoori oven

“Oh well,” I said, after twitching the shutters to look for the catering truck for the nth time, “I suppose if the chef doesn’t come we could always order take-away …”

“Take-away?” asked DS. “I’ve been learning about take-away at school!”

Wow, I thought. Nutrition already.  He’s only four.

“What have you learned about take-away?” I asked, imagining something along the lines of how unhealthy a diet of take-away food is.

“Hmm…” said DS, putting on his concentrating face. “We learned that 10 take-away seven is three.”

Written by mrsdubai

March 4, 2014 at 4:15 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Made me chuckle. There’s no way someone can convince me that just by being a bit older (yikes, just a bit) than our kids, we think better, or know it all. I tell ya, they got us cornered 🙂

    Aqeel Fikree

    March 4, 2014 at 7:32 pm

  2. Hello, do you have any email that I can contact you with?

    serene

    March 6, 2014 at 7:31 am

  3. Love that the chef had a portable tandoor. Yes, that’s what I took away from the post HA HA

    beverleyann

    March 17, 2014 at 3:50 am


Leave a Reply

