Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

On bringing up girls in the age of Miley Twerk

with 2 comments

Sometimes I feel I’m facing an uphill battle to give the children a good moral education in this age of internet, Miley ***ing Cyrus, Rihanna and Kim @@@ing Kardashian. Everything is available to children on You Tube.

“Oh mummy,” said DD the other week, after I’d protected her from every image I could of Miley Cyrus Twerking in her barely-there underwear. “I saw the video of ‘Wrecking Ball’ and Miley’s naked in it!! Why isn’t she wearing any pants? Wouldn’t the ball be cold?”

From sweet country girl to... well...

Miley – from sweet country girl to… well…

“Because Miley’s not a nice girl anymore, darling. I know you liked her in Hannah Montanah, but, hey, you know…”

So we talk as much as we can without me ramming it down her throat about values and morals and what really counts. But sometimes, from the American teenage “whatever” hand I get from DD, I wonder if any of it goes in at all.

Today, I got my answer. On the kitchen table, I found these two papers, hand-drawn and written by DD. My job, for the moment, is done.

 

beauty 1 (640x480)

Beauty on the outside, it says, says: “Don’t bother.” “I don’t care.” “You’re the worst” and “I’m telling.” Beauty on the inside says, “Let me help you”, “Thank you / please” “Let me help you” and “I forgive you.”

 

And here we have the grand finale: "Beauty only natters if it's beauty on the inside. Beauty on the outside really doesn't mattter."

And here we have the grand finale: “Beauty only matters if it’s beauty on the inside. Beauty on the outside really doesn’t matter.”

 

Written by mrsdubai

February 18, 2014 at 9:47 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks to me like your doing an amazing job of installing morals and value in your daughter. Great post thanks for sharing

    Expatmammy

    February 18, 2014 at 9:51 pm

  2. That’s really lovely. I worry about the same thing – my dd is 7 and they’ve already started the cattiness at school. We talk about beauty and what it means but sometimes I wonder if it’s sinking in at all!

    Was Living Down Under

    February 19, 2014 at 7:48 pm


Leave a Reply

