Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Goldilocks and the three pillows

with one comment

For the past 18 months I’ve woken up feeling like a crumpled-up granny. My joints ache, my shoulders ache and my neck is so tense it makes Burj Khalifa look like a strip of over-cooked spaghetti.

But, as one who hunches over her desk for at least five straight hours a day, I’ve put it down to bad posture. And then I had an epiphany: I don’t sit badly at my desk – and the neck pain is worse when I wake up. A bit of internet research and I realised that it’s my pillows, not my desk, that are causing the problem.

One day this will be me.

I’m jealous of her starry sleep, but her pillows still look too high…

So I do what any self-respecting girl would do: I hit the shops in search of the perfect pillow. Alone, no one pillow does the job but, on yet another sleepless night of crippling neck pain, I decide I am once and for all going to find the goddamned perfect pillow.

So, between 2.30am and 5am, I march between the master bedroom and the spare room carrying spare pillows like an ant bringing flies to the Ant Queen as I try out every possible combination of Ikea, Debenhams, Pottery Barn and M&S pillows in order to find the perfect combo of height / density / support.

After some time, DH becomes aware of the commotion (perhaps I stomped too hard when the Debenhams Firm Support let me down. I really believed it could be my life partner).

‘What’s up?’ he asks groggily. He doesn’t really expect a reply, but…

‘I’m just trying to find the right pillow,’ I huff, looking jealously at his beautifully supported neck.

‘Grrrhhmmmp,’ says DH. ‘Didn’t you buy one? Like, in Ikea? Or Debenhams? Or M&S or something?’

‘None of them bl**dy work!’ I snap. ‘That one’s too high! That one’s too soft! And that one’s too low!’ I hurl the pillows to the floor in a tearful  5am strop. I’m all too aware I’ll be making packed lunches in an hour.

‘Okay , Goldilocks,’ sighs DH. ‘Keep your hair on.’

Whoever it was who said you need a husband who makes you laugh? I can tell you a hundred times: they were right.

Written by mrsdubai

February 4, 2014 at 9:06 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha – this made me giggle!

    Sounds like you don’t need a new pillow – maybe just a massage?

    Was Living Down Under

    February 19, 2014 at 7:45 pm


Leave a Reply

