Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

My hero products of 2013

with 10 comments

  • L’Oreal Skin Perfection Miracle 15-second Cleansing Oil – This is the best cleanser I’ve ever used in this reasonable price bracket. Feels lovely, smells great, does what it says on the bottle. I’d drink it if I could… well… it does smell of grapes. Or something fruity.

    Move over fancy Keratin hair mask... this is what's in my shower these days

    Move over fancy Keratin hair mask… this is what’s in my shower these days

  • Apple Cider Vinegar (organic, “with The Mother” aka bits in it) Yep, I’ve gone all hippy-dippy on you this year. On the advice of my yoga teacher I started mixing this with boiling water and inhaling it to help my sinuses; I also started drinking it mixed with half a teaspoon of honey (if you shut your eyes and think of Cannes, it can even taste a little like a rough Sauvignon). It has a million and one health benefits, not least balancing blood sugar and preventing cravings (hello skinny!). I use it, too, as a hair rinse. Two tablespoons of ACV in about 500mls of water, tipped over my hair post-shampoo is the most effective conditioner I’ve ever come across, giving incredible body, shine and bounce. Boo-ya (warning, it can strip dark-coloured hair…) 
  • White vinegar. Following on from the success of the apple cider vinegar, I’ve been using this cheap supermarket vinegar to clean the inside of my car windows after DS has splodged greasy fingers on the glass. Works a treat. I also used it to clean out the fridge with great results. 
  • Baking Soda. I came across this while researching the uses of apple cider vinegar. I’m not hippy enough to use it  instead of shampoo but I do use it in my laundry. A couple of spoons in the main wash maximise the benefits of the fabric detergent; in the conditioner drawer, it deodorises and fluffs up  loads such as bath towels and DH’s gym kit. It works a treat. More than a treat, actually. I can’t stop sniffing the washing. 
  • Epsom Salts. Yes, I bathe in them. They’re supposed to be good for aches, pains and detoxing. Can’t argue with that, can, you, although I do tend to have wild dreams after. I guess that’s part of the detox process. Maybe I should drink less vinegar.

Happy New Year!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Where can I get Apple cider vinegar the Bragg’s brand here in dubai? Thank you so much 😊

    Sue

    January 8, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    • Sue, apologies. I have not found the Bragg’s brand but I found two excellent brands in Geant, both organic, both ‘with The Mother’

      mrsdubai

      January 9, 2014 at 7:47 pm

      • Hi which store did u buy the ones with organic and with the mother? Thanks.

        PrincessBrat

        July 27, 2014 at 11:53 am

      • Hello, sorry for late reply. I found it in Geant. They sometimes have it, sometimes not!

        mrsdubai

        August 9, 2014 at 4:18 pm

      • hi, what are the two products you found in Geant?

        Kriza

        January 11, 2015 at 3:40 pm

      • Organic apple cider vinegar “with mother”, which means pulpy bits.

        mrsdubai

        January 13, 2015 at 5:44 pm

  2. I m in Pakistan from where can I buy bragg’s apple cider vinegar? Plz help

    yasmin

    October 30, 2014 at 4:58 pm

  3. Have you purchased Epsom Salt in Dubai? If so, where did you find it… I haven’t been able to find a store here that sell it, yet.

    thesamenessproject

    November 29, 2014 at 11:58 am

    • Hello – the pharmacies sell them in small packets. Often they are out of stock but I usually find some somewhere 🙂

      mrsdubai

      December 3, 2014 at 7:44 pm

  4. I don’t think you get Bragg’s ACV here in Dubai. However, you do get EDEN ACV in Spinney’s. Its organic and with the mother.

    sonal.dhople@gmail.com

    May 21, 2015 at 8:28 am


Leave a Reply

