Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Toy Day

with one comment

I offered to let the children stay home from school today.

I’ve never done that before. But, given it’s the last day of term, it’s not like they’re going to learn anything. And, to be fair, my motives were not as altruistic as they may sound: for me, the offer was all about not having to get up at 6am when the moon was still high and bright in the black sky.

They said no, of course, because the last day of term is “toy day”.

This is a day on which the children get to take in a toy to play with. But there are school rules: no guns, no electronics – and my own rule: nothing you care about in case it gets lost or broken.

Choosing the right toy is always hard.

“So, what do you want to take in?” I asked DS as he gave me a snuggly little cuddle this morning.

“I don’t know!”

“Well… have a think about what you’d like to play with in class today…”

DS thinks, then: “I know! I know what I’m taking!”

“What?”

“You!”

Written by mrsdubai

December 19, 2013 at 9:43 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hahahahahahaha! That’s classic!

    Pinay Flying High

    December 20, 2013 at 5:34 pm


Leave a Reply

