Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Maintaining the magic of Santa

with 6 comments

It was easy to dupe the children about Santa when they were young. But, with DD now eight, we’re getting to the point where her friends know that he’s not real. I’m keen, though, to maintain the magic for as long as I can – if only for DS’s sake. He’s only four – he deserves a good few more years till he finds out the truth.

Maintaining the magic... it gets harder every year

Maintaining the magic… please don’t ask too many questions!

But, each year, maintaining the mystery gets harder.  First, there’s the issue of where I hide the stocking presents. It used just to be in the wardrobe in the spare room.  DD would never look in there. But now she’s older I can’t guarantee she won’t rummage about. If she finds the stash of stocking presents they’re as good to me as thermal socks in a Dubai summer: I can’t give them to her and I’ll have to start again.

Then there’s the issue of what to put in the stocking. If I get it too right – if I put in things that the children actively want, does that make Santa a little too clever for his own good? Does he have a little too much insight into which novelty erasers DD already has, and which she still needs? (“Well, Santa is watching you, darlings.”)

And, finally, there’s the issue of packaging. For years I’ve saved a secret roll of wrapping paper to use on the gifts from Santa. I never wanted DD to say, “How come Santa’s used the same wrapping paper as you?” But now she’s even older and wiser, should I decant gifts from their shop packaging? I just imagine her saying. “Oh look, mummy, Santa went to Claire’s Accessories and Daiso. How did he do that without anyone noticing? Does he wear jeans or something? Do you think it was Mirdif City Centre?”

Definitely Christmas this year is the hardest to date. And I haven’t even tried to sneak the stocking into their rooms at midnight yet…

Written by mrsdubai

December 10, 2013 at 9:02 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this part of Christmas too. I’ve played it very simple with my kids – if you believe in Santa then he brings you lots of presents. If you don’t, then you get one present from me and Dad. Funnily enough, even my ‘just turned’ 11 year old has written a list to Santa and if he does know (as all of his friends do that it’s not real), he’s not stupid and is keeping very quiet! Smart boy.

    • That’s a really good answer. I’m preparing my speech along the lines of ‘Some children don’r believe and, yes, then thei mummies have to put the presents. But, if you want a stocking from Santa…well…’ xox

      mrsdubai

      December 11, 2013 at 8:08 pm

  2. Hi Mrs. Dubai,

    ExpatWoman.com loves your blog and would like to award you a favourite blog award button. Please email us so that we can send you your award button.

    Warm regards,

    Nela

    Nela

    December 11, 2013 at 2:24 pm

  3. Try upping your game Mrs. D! Reindeer leave tracks in the sand and they often browse on bushes in the back garden. They like carrots, too. If that doesn’t buy you another year then I suggest you watch ‘ The Polar Express ‘ together. Maybe she will be inspired to hear the bell.

    FM

    December 13, 2013 at 9:43 am

    • Oh FM, I have done the whole reindeer dust thing… but I have to admit I enjoy Santa’s sherry the most! 🙂

      mrsdubai

      December 15, 2013 at 8:48 pm


Leave a Reply

