Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Happy Expo 2020 day!

with 2 comments

So this morning, as the whole of Dubai celebrated en masse at winning the right to host Expo 2020, two small children stood in my bedroom and cried. Real tears. At 6.30am.

Expo 2020: Burj Kalifa literally burst with excitement. My children perhaps not as enthusiastic

Expo 2020: Burj Khalifa literally burst with excitement; my children perhaps not as enthusiastic

(I hope I don’t need to add that they were my children.)

“Why is school cancelled? I want to go to school!” wailed DD, thinking entirely of the UAE-flag-coloured sk8er-grl dress I’d bought her to wear for the school’s National Day celebrations today.

“I wanna go to school. I love school!” wailed the very same DS who wakes every morning to whine, “I hate school, I don’t wanna go to school. I’m sick. My tummy hurts.”

“It’s not my fault school’s cancelled,” I said uncharitably, wondering if it was too late to get back into my dream. I’d been at an airport, about to get on a flight. To where, I’d not found out.

But, like many Dubai residents, my children don’t know what Expo 2020 is. So, instead of going back to bed, they asked me. At 6.35am. My delicious dream turned out to be a big, fat flight to Nowhere City.

“It’s, umm, a big exhibition,” I said brightly. “All the countries of the world will have a stand, and it’ll be really exciting and fun. We’ll go, I should think.”

I didn’t go into the carbon neutral business. It was early. The children looked as dubious as early-morning children can look in cute pyjamas.

“You’ll be 15,” I told DD. “Your friends at boarding school will all want to come to Dubai for the holidays. You’ll call me up and ask if Hen, Bells, Laney and Fliss can come for half term and I’ll be like ‘Darling, we don’t have enough bedrooms, you’ll have to pick two friends max’ and you’ll be like, ‘but they all want to come. Dubai is so cool!’ You’ll be really popular!”

It didn’t convince her, but she wiped her tears and, at least, went down to breakfast. Happy Expo. Seven more years to go.

Written by mrsdubai

November 28, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Where did you get the skater girl dress? My dd and I saw someone in one today and she has not stopped talking about it since! Thanks

    Zoe Clapp

    November 28, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    • Hello Zoe, hope this is not too late: I bought it in Satwa, in one of those dodgy shops on At Satwa Street (v easy to find and a car park right opposite). It was AED 25. Absolute bargain! Nice cotton, too!

      mrsdubai

      December 1, 2013 at 9:30 pm


Leave a Reply

