Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

On winter coats

with one comment

As we move towards winter , there are many things I appreciate about living in Dubai: being able to live with the doors and windows open; the scent of acacia wafting into the bedroom at night; being able to sit outside enjoying the sight of the pool; cool, morning bike rides; not having to choose outfits based on how ruined they’ll be by the inevitable sweat; working in the garden; being able to take the kids to the park to let off steam before dinner and bed.

Might I have gone for the fashion-victim pink-coat thing this season? It's hard to say when I haven't bought a coat in 15 years

Might I have gone for the fashion-victim pink-coat thing this season? It’s hard to say when I haven’t bought a coat in 15 years

Being able, I suppose, to enjoy a bit of fresh air after the long, humid months of summer.

And I enjoy, even though it’s winter, not having to bundle up in coats, boots, scarves and gloves just to nip outside. It’s so nice to have a wardrobe that ranges from a bikini at one extreme, to a linen long-sleeved shirt at the other. Maybe a sweater in case the winter’s particularly inclement, and a pair of ankle boots if I’m being melodramatic.

But that’s not to say I don’t miss coats. When I lived in England, I loved a good coat and a nice pair or two of boots.

And the shops do stock them here. If you’ve ever wondered what I look like, I’m the sad old goat stroking the pale-pink overcoat in Zara; the one trying on the champagne-coloured Reiss fake fur; the one prancing up and down the shoe shop in the knee-high boots.

Understand this, though: I’m not wishing. Never wishing to live in a cooler climate. Just imagining which winter wardrobe I’d buy if I did.

Written by mrsdubai

November 12, 2013 at 7:05 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m in Lagos, Nigeria at the moment and heading back to London next week…sooo looking forward to the cold and the festive Christmas spirit though…as for coats…LOVE them!! 😉 In an ideal world I’d wear a coat with open toe shoes!

    natasham

    November 13, 2013 at 11:45 am


Leave a Reply

