Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Lies you tell your kids

leave a comment »

There are a lot of things DD would like. Sometimes I blame myself: when she was little and I was still new to parenting I bought her whatever she wanted on the grounds that she was lovely and I could afford it so… why not?

Sorry, darling. Much as I love you, I'm not going there. Should've pressed the button!

Sorry, darling. Much as I love you, I’m not going there. Should’ve pressed the button!

But I soon wised up to the error of my ways and now DD has to earn things that she wants, generally through good behaviour and manners.

This week, she’s been banging on about a pencil case that she wants. It’s from Paperchase, which, in Dubai, is pretty over-priced so I rarely bother with it. But DD has been like a child obsessed, bringing up the topic at every spare moment.

Tonight, though, after days on end of ‘Mummy. About the pencil case?’, I got a new request.

‘Mummy. How do I get those long curls? That go down your back?’

‘Ringlets?’

‘Yes. Can you make them?’

‘Well. Yes?’ Thinking of hot tongs, thinking of sleeping in rags. Thinking: oh no.

‘And they’ll last forever?’

‘No, only for the day. Less than a day if it’s hot or you go swimming.’

DD is seriously not pleased. The full-on whinging starts. ‘But I really want those curls! Forever!’

‘Well, what do you want me to do about it? I can’t just give you curls forever!’

‘But I want them!’ She’s so frustrated she doesn’t know what to do with herself.

‘Darling,’ I explain. ‘It’s like asking me to give you a different colour skin or eyes. I can’t do it now. If you wanted ringlets, you should have pushed the ‘ringlet’ button when you were in my tummy.’

‘Seriously?’

‘Yes!’

‘Oh no! I didn’t see it. I can’t believe I missed it!’

I shrug it off, nonchalant.  [Sorry, darling, in advance, for that particular lie.]

Written by mrsdubai

September 16, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

