Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The ghosts of mummies past

with 2 comments

So we’re two days back at school already and the children are nicely settled. I, on the other hand, am having a bit of a problem: I keep seeing the ghosts of mummies past.

Au revoir, dear friends, au revoir.

Au revoir, dear friends, au revoir.

I don’t mean real ghosts, obviously, but the essence of old friends who’ve now left Dubai. 2013 was a bad summer in that I lost too many friends to the siren call of ’home’ – but my mind doesn’t stop expecting to see them here.

It could be a car – a white L-reg Nissan Armada on (the old) Emirates Road, perhaps – or the shape of a tall blonde woman scurrying to pick-up. It could be the laugh of a brunette in a Prado; the place where I always helped my friend get her pushchair up the steps; or a corner of the school where I usually ran into a particular friend and exchanged hurried greetings (not to mention a full report on the Justin Bieber concert) as we walked our separate ways.

I understand that their lives have moved on but, for me, the landscape of school without their presence is weird. Five minutes ago they were here; now they’re gone.

Transient friends. It’s the penalty of expat life, I guess.

Written by mrsdubai

September 3, 2013 at 9:30 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ooh, so sad to read this.. 😦
    Still being fairly new to Dubai and expat life, I’ve yet to experience this, but already dreading it!

    Bestof2sisters

    September 4, 2013 at 7:56 pm

  2. It’s definitely harder being the one “left behind” so to speak.

    I’m nowhere near Dubai currently but lived the experience of growing up as an expat and more recently as well when we picked up and moved to Australia so I know where you’re coming from. Find your blog so entertaining and have been coming by to visit on occasion 🙂

    Was Living Down Under

    September 6, 2013 at 5:12 am


Leave a Reply

