Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The post-holiday wardrobe: two pairs of jeans and two long tops

with one comment

I’m ashamed to admit that, two weeks after arriving back in the UAE full of good intentions to shed my summer weight-gain, the scales are yet to budge a grammito (that’s even smaller than a gramme).  And this despite my best intentions: summer’s beer o’clock has been replaced with healthy breakfasts, low-calorie lunches, celery for snacks and small portions of healthy suppers.

And 1 and 2 and 3 and 4 - I'll wear my skinny jeans once more!

And 1 and 2 and 3 and 4 – I’ll wear my skinny jeans once more!

I’ve even resorted to gin with low-cal tonic (just 20cals per 200ml!) instead of that great fattener-upperer, vino (every mother of small children will understand that swapping a little early-evening tipple for a Perrier is simply not feasible in the school holidays).

But nothing’s happening.

For two weeks I’ve lived in the only two pairs of jeans that currently fit me: blue, cropped jeans and red not-that-skinny jeans, both styled with long tops to disguise any muffin overspill and, frankly, I’m getting quite sick of them. I look longingly at my white skinny jeans (size 10, what was I thinking?); at my slinky dresses; and, especially, at my gorgeous Seven For All Mankind jeans that no longer do up (“buy them tight,” said the assistant. Umm, maybe not that tight, dear, I am 42!).

So, tomorrow, when the children go back to school, I’ll be back on my bike, no matter that it’s still over 40C. I’ll be in the garden with my skipping rope and, if you see a woman with gritted teeth running desperately around the compound like a Duracell bunny on acid, give me a wave.

I’ll do anything to make sure these extra kgs don’t take up permanent residence on my hips. Leopard-print skinnies, I’m telling you now: you’re on a sabbatical; no way are you retired.

Written by mrsdubai

September 1, 2013 at 9:38 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Go them Mrs D!

    matshila

    September 1, 2013 at 10:40 pm


Leave a Reply

