Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

What is it about M&S ready meals?

with 9 comments

I’ve avoided them this year, for a change.

Usually as soon as I get to the UK, I go berserk in the M&S food section, buying up all the ready meals you can get. I get twice as many as I plan to as it’s always ‘three for the price of two’ or ‘buy one get another half price’ (I’m not even talking about the ‘dinner for two for £10’ offer, which is such a treat I practically hyperventilate in the aisles).

Yummy - and not made by mummy

Yummy – and not made by mummy

Mum always complains that I buy too much to fit in her fridge. It’s just such a luxury for a housewife from Dubai, where ready meals are either so horrific they probably glow in the dark, or non-existent at all, and so I have to cook everything from scratch.

But I know that cooking from scratch is far healthier than feeding the children ready meals. So, so far this year, on my “holiday”, I’ve cooked from scratch every night: tofu and veggie stir-fry, spag bol, shepherd’s pie, pasta with smoked salmon, chickpea curry, cauliflower curry…

… And then tonight, for a treat, I bought the little tinkers M&S ready meals. Spag bol, but the tasty adult one, not the kiddie one. And I’ve never seen food disappear so fast. Is my cooking really so terrible?

Written by mrsdubai

July 25, 2013 at 9:47 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you seen that Geant online shopping has launched? Obv I’d rather it was Tesco, but am very excited! 🙂

    Circles in the Sand

    July 26, 2013 at 1:16 pm

  2. Oh dear I went into the M&S here to try and find their amazing ready to eat meals and was just.. disappointed. I miss them! They do the most amazing desserts and scotch eggs! Need to visit soon!

    tashsn

    July 28, 2013 at 9:18 am

    • Oh I’m so sorry if I misled you. You can’t get them in Dubai; that’s why I go so crazy when I’m in the UK. xx

      mrsdubai

      July 29, 2013 at 1:44 am

      • No you dint mislead me. I went crazy at M&S when I returned to Dubai but dint find anything 😦 that’s why I miss the UK so much! Was never a fan of ready to eat meals but the M&S ones are irresistible. I remember me and my mates have their to-die-for banoffee pie! Does anyone do banoffee pie here? I have never found it.

        tashsn

        July 29, 2013 at 7:09 am

  3. …”glow in the dark”… that’s why I always keep the lights on when I dig into a ready meal lol. I’m sure your cooking is fabulous, just not as loaded with the same salt and sugar that MacDonalds (and freezer meals) have been seducing our palates with for decades 🙂

    Cymbria Wood

    August 1, 2013 at 1:17 am

  4. I’m so upset to find out m&s ready meals aren’t available there. I have family in Dubai and am visiting with my toddler soon, and although I don’t use them much normally the kids m&s meals would have been great- low in salt, I just add some veg. It would make the whole trip a lot easier having them. Are there any similar kids meals available anywhere else in Dubai?

    Vanessa

    September 14, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    • Hello Vanessa, sorry to say I’ve never seen any kids’ ready meals here… xox

      mrsdubai

      September 15, 2013 at 9:03 pm


Leave a Reply

