Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Where were you when HH The Prince of Cambridge was born?

with 3 comments

Seriously. I know it’s one of those things that I’ll be asked till the day I die. So I may as well make an effort to remember. Here’s what happened:

1) I didn’t really care.

2) I sort of cared.

3) I checked dailymail.co.uk

4) I saw that a live-feed camera outside the Lindo Wing existed.

5) I ignored it.

6) The kids started playing Subway Surfer on the iPad. I opened the laptop.

7) And then the live cam.

She looks great for 1 day after. Hats off to her.

She looks great for 1 day after. Hats off to her.

8) I got addicted to watching the hospital doors. Even though I knew William would not come out and announce the birth. I knew about the easel thing. But that didn’t make door-watching any less addictive.

9) DD joined me. We watched the doors. Every time they flapped in the breeze, we gasped.

10) I needed the loo. But I didn’t dare go in case everyone asked ‘Where were you when HH was born?’ and I had to say, ‘On the loo.’

11) I put the kids to bed.

12) I got back on dailymail.co.uk

13) Nothing happened.

14) I had a shower and read my book – ‘The Lightness Between Oceans’.

15) DH BBM’d me from Dubai. ‘It’s a boy.’ It was 11.30pm in Dubai.

16) I thought he was joking.

17) He was not joking.

18) I woke up DD to tell her. She said ‘Cool,’ and then snored.

19) We had monumental thunderstorms and I was up all night with petrified Dubai children. It reminded me of the freaky storms we had in March 2009 when DS was born and I watched lightning over the Burj Al Arab from Medcare.

20) Kate looked fab today. But I kind of felt sorry for her. Welcome, dear, to lack of sleep.com. You are in good company.

Written by mrsdubai

July 24, 2013 at 12:31 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You cared just as much as I did. I am so happy for them, but the fuss they’re made over eveything…and have you heard the uproar about the carseat yet?! It’s ridiculous!

    Happily Whatever

    July 24, 2013 at 11:42 am

  2. I also saw the fuss over Kate’s mummy-tummy. Poor girl!

    mrsdubai

    July 24, 2013 at 10:39 pm

  3. So Its His Royal Highness George Alexander Louis!

    tashsn

    July 25, 2013 at 12:14 pm


Leave a Reply

