Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The Natural History Museum with small children

with 4 comments

In Dubai, it seemed a good idea. “Ooh, DS,” I said (I must have been drinking gin at the time), “did you know you can see real dinosaur bones in a museum in London? Would you like that?”

“Yes!” he squealed. “Let’s go! I wanna go!”

It must have been my second gin, actually, because I said yes: I agreed to take my two children not only up to London but across London on the Underground and into a crowded museum in the midst of the school summer holidays.

Maybe I was on more than gin, come to think of it. There is no other explanation.

Anyway, today was the day. Let’s just say that by the time we got to South Kensington, I was hoarse from shouting things like “Get away from the edge!”, “Stay behind the yellow line!” and “Sit down… I said sit down!” as I tried to get two innocents safely through the London crowds.

The moving T-Rex was scary but DS preferred looking at the real bones of real dinosaurs

The moving T-Rex was scary but DS preferred looking at the real bones of real dinosaurs

The good news is we didn’t have to queue to get in. I suppose that was some blessing. But it seems the dinosaurs’ natural home must have been Dubai because it was about 42C in the Dinosaur Exhibition room. Even I, known to my friends as “the lizard”, broke a sweat as we were pushed, shoved and jostled along by the crowd.

DD hated it. Her whinges went from “I need water” and “I hate it” to “I’m hot. I feel faint. I think I’m going to collapse.”

DS, however, was a different story. He couldn’t get enough the dinosaur skeletons. He wanted to watch all the videos, speculate on why the dinosaurs died out, watch a reconstruction of a meat-eater ambushing a crowd of smaller dinosaurs at a watering hole, and growl at the ferocious T-Rex that growls and snarls and looks like it’s sizing you up for supper.

And you know what? Now I’m home again, if DS doesn’t have nightmares tonight, I think I’d say the stress and the whining and the heat were all worth it.

 

Written by mrsdubai

July 24, 2013 at 10:32 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s quite impressive isn’t it. It’s years back that I visited with DS1 but I still remember the tail swishing about and after walking forward it’s whole length from the tail, ending up at the front, looking at its eyes and realising that they moved. My next thought was that it’s going to ponce on me!

    matshila

    July 25, 2013 at 12:34 am

  2. OMG!!! The same thing happened to me 10 days ago. I don´t know what we were thinking when we decided to go!!!!

    We currently live in Spain but are moving to Dubai in 20 days. I have been following your blog more or less since I found out we were leaving quite a few months ago. Sooo before leaving Europe we decided to go visit my sister that lives in London with our 4 kids. Oh yeah! What a great idea! It happened to be that we left steaming hot Spain to arrive to “heat wave” London. Just in time for Murray´s win at Wimbledon!

    What were we thinking when we decided to go to the Natural History Museum!!!! Sooooo hooott! Muggy! Full of people!!!! My kids kept looking at me like: this is torture mom!!! 😉

    All in all we loved the dinosaur, the sequoia (sp?) and the blue whale room! We later enjoyed much more a refreshing ice cream and splash in my sister´s swimming pool in Esher!

    Will keep on reading your blog even though I don´t comment it often!!! 🙂
    xox,
    Annie:)

    Annie Vazquez

    July 25, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    • Thank you for reading. I’m glad to hear you survived the NHM. Drop me a line when you reach Dubai – we should meet up for a coffee!

      mrsdubai

      July 25, 2013 at 9:52 pm


Leave a Reply

