Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The best-laid plans…

with 3 comments

So here we are at the start of the marathon that is the school summer holidays. With endless free-form days stretching ahead into the blue yonder, I do find the ankle-biters get fractious, start fighting each other and nagging me if there’s no structure to our days, so I plan the entire nine weeks like a military operation.  

Not quite the fun week I'd planned! Poor DD.

Not quite the fun week I’d planned! Poor DD.

My little darlings have seven weeks of organised fun (by that I do mean being bored in different countries) this summer, and two weeks in which to relax: one week at the start of the holidays and one at the end.

This week was ‘relaxing week 1’ – we were going to do one thing a day that the kids ask to do all year and to which mean-mummy usually says no. A water park, Kidzania, ice-skating, beach, cinema, play dates. 

And, just as I’d arranged the week, slotted activities into the right days, matched play dates to relevant activities and got it all inked in my diary, DD fell sick. Not just a little sick, but horribly sick with the potent throat virus that DS had last week. And I had to cancel the lot.

Happy holidays.

Written by mrsdubai

July 1, 2013 at 1:20 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hope she gets well soon enough to enjoy the rest of your summer 🙂

    The Vanilla Housewife

    July 1, 2013 at 4:05 pm

  2. Hope she’s feeling better soon. Good luck with keeping the ‘ankle biters’ occupied!

    Dubai Mum

    July 2, 2013 at 3:15 pm

  3. Ouch, I feel your pain. I have two at home and unfortunately they are too young to be sent away to summer camp, etc. Add to it the tiredness of Ramadan and I feel like I’m tethering on the edge of sanity. Hope your girl gets well soon


Leave a Reply

