Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Two more packed lunches to go

with 4 comments

I appreciate that we’re snowballing towards 10+ weeks with the children at home all day every day but, at this time of year, when I’ve produced 2,000+ packed lunches since September 2012, standing bleary-eyed at the kitchen counter at 6am, I can tell you, the thought of having just two more packed lunches to make until September seems divine.

Darling boy, I'd love to send you an Angry Birds bento box, but a cheese sandwich will have to do

Darling boy, I’d love to send you an Angry Birds bento box, but I’m not Japanese so a cheese sandwich will have to do

The problem with DS is that his favourite sandwiches are 1) ham and 2) peanut butter. Both are banned at school, forcing me to send boring dullsville cheese. I’m sure he eats the bread and chucks the cheese in the bin – it certainly doesn’t come home – but what I don’t know won’t hurt me – right?

And then we have the yoghurt / Petits Filoux part of the lunch. These cost about £100 per pot over here but I don’t mind paying it because they’re presumably good quality and clearly studded with diamonds but sometimes these come home unopened and spoiled after a day living in a lunchbox with an ambient temperature of about 38C. Other times they don’t come home and I do a silent cheer – yes! I’m spending DH’s salary on good food for the kids.

And then DS says, ‘I didn’t have time to eat the yoghurt so I chucked it in the bin?’

Can you hear me screaming?

And then we have the fruit / veg part of the lunch. DS used to be very good at eating apple, carrots, grapes, melon but lately these have come back untouched. ‘I don’t have time,’ he says. Funny that, given that the tiny pots of pretzels, Cheddars or salt & vinegar twists get eaten, isn’t it?

There really can be nothing more frustrating than making a packed lunch for a small child in a school with a no-nuts, no-pork policy. So, as I said… two more to go…

Written by mrsdubai

June 24, 2013 at 9:39 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Only three more to go here…..!

    Ellie at Emerald Pie

    June 25, 2013 at 1:14 am

  2. German International School even has 7 more lunches to go. Looking forward to last day of school so much. No standing at the kitchen counter at 6:30 am for 8 weeks, yippieh!

    Sabine

    June 25, 2013 at 8:57 am

    • Ours would have been 3 but they’re chucking them out before lunch on Thu. Good luck!! xox

      mrsdubai

      June 25, 2013 at 5:54 pm

  3. I hear you! In fact I hear me in your words. School lunches (even at 35dhs a day) become pretty appealing after a while…..

    amanda

    June 25, 2013 at 4:35 pm


Leave a Reply

