Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The end-of-year concert

with 2 comments

Look, I’m going to ask you something that you might feel uncomfortable admitting out loud but, seriously, how much did you enjoy your (small) child’s end-of-year concert? 

Is one of them seriously mine?

Is one of them seriously mine?

I’m not talking about the older children who have both some musical ability and some idea of what they’re supposed to do on stage, but about the littlest ones – the ones who’re shoe-horned into a ‘cute’ costume and then shuffle on stage, covered so heavily that the only way you can identify your own progeny is if they have an identifiable tic, and who then mumble at the floor so quietly they’re completely drowned out by the over-enthusiastic pianist, who’s bashing that keyboard not just with gusto, but with a smile so bright she could be advertising dentures.

That sort of concert.

The one where you’ve taken the whole morning off work so you can be available to listen at 10.30am (having done drop-off at 7.30am and before you do pickup at 1pm), and then you have to sit through 2,000 other classes doing their rendition of You Bring Me Sunshine and the Techno Chicken before your own sweetie-pie comes on.

You strain to hear through all the other bored mummies who’re chatting over the classes that aren’t theirs; strain to see past all the proud dads videoing on their iPads; struggle to identify a tune so you can prove you were actually there to a child who can’t identify you in the crowd of thousands – and then you discover you’ve been watching the wrong kid all along.

So, tell me now: did you really enjoy the end of year concert? Or am I missing something?

Written by mrsdubai

June 19, 2013 at 6:16 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I didn’t really enjoy it but I had to dance and sing along on the side just so my son who was in kindergarten back then would dance on stage. I’m pretty sure some of the parents were clapping for me. LOL

    The Vanilla Housewife

    June 19, 2013 at 11:28 pm

  2. I was a talentless but enthusiastic child, who took part in every concert/school play going, usually as a ‘member of the crowd’ (see talentless). My mother, who was a fairly serious arts enthusiast, told me early on and in no uncertain terms that if I thought she was going to come along to see an amateur production of a a midsummer night’s dream – or whatever I was involved with at the time – I had another thought coming. That didn’t deter me (see enthusiastic)! My father turned up to the odd thing, but feeling the sense of duty over enjoyment I excused him farily quickly. I guess that if I’d been lead role material I may have been put out, but as it happened, no harm done (don’t think …)

    Alex

    June 22, 2013 at 2:14 pm


Leave a Reply

