Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The obsolete printer

with 4 comments

The title says it all, really, doesn’t it? I don’t think a single one of us is unfamiliar with that sinking feeling when we realise our sparkly new investment electronic gadget is actually, um, out of date. To be honest, you kind of expect it when it comes to Apple products, don’t you? iPad 1, for example? Tee hee.

Looks ancient, doesn't it? Look carefully and you'll see a handle for winding it up. Gah.

Looks ancient, doesn’t it? Look carefully and you’ll see a handle for winding it up. Gah.

But my printer. Well, I’ve had it under four years. It was an all-singing, all-dancing job that I’d actually managed to install and use without any problems. I could photocopy, scan and print on it without ever having a problem. Every time I looked at it I got  little buzz of joy that, after years of argumentative  Inkjet hell, I’d finally invested in this fantastic piece of equipment that had such a positive impact on my quality of life.

But on the weekend it started to rattle. Not a little, but so loudly I was worried it would wake up the children. It rattled so hard the desk shook. And then it refused to pick up paper.

So I did what every housewife would do: I turned it off, unplugged it, stroked it a little, had a chat with it, then turned it on again. More rattling.

I Googled the problem. Despite knowing that my printer’s issue was known in tech circles as “the death rattle”, I called HP Support. I should have known, when they couldn’t even locate the serial number in their files, that we were dealing with a piece of history, not a four-year-old printer that had gone prematurely wrong.

Still, they suggested I bring it in to their Total Care centre. Who laughed out loud before they put it under a glass case in their “obsolete models” museum.

And the worst thing is: I’d just bought three XL packs of ink for it. They probably cost more than a new printer.

Sigh.

Written by mrsdubai

June 17, 2013 at 6:10 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My HP is 15 years old, I had once this problem, took it to the Agency, they refused to fix it, one of those tiny shop in Rashidya fixed for less than AED 200

    Maha

    June 17, 2013 at 6:35 pm

  2. I feel your pain. The cartridges always cost more than the machine! Good luck and have fun shopping for a new one!

    matshila

    June 17, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    • If I buy a new one, it’s going to be wireless, bluetooth, take instructions from my BlackBerry when I’m at school, make the tea, shut the blinds when it exceeds 26C in the study, and book me a seat on the first Virgin Galactic space trip. Bah.

      mrsdubai

      June 18, 2013 at 6:09 pm

      • OMG…this made me giggle. I just replaced my old printer. And when I say printer, I mean that is ALL it did…..Back in 2003 it cost GBP99! My new, all singing, all dancing printer keeps compnay with a scanner, copier and photo printer….all for the GBP70! I was so amazed, I almost bought 2!

        Dubai Mum

        June 18, 2013 at 6:48 pm


Leave a Reply

