Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Expat friends reunited

with 6 comments

Don’t you just hate it when your child makes a BFF and then said friend disappears off to Hong Kong / Saudi / Singapore / back home and you end up spending every bedtime for the next year wiping tears from the lashes of a child who can’t understand?

Expat kids - lots of tears, but global friendships. They'll appreciate it one day...

Expat kids – lots of tears, but global friendships. They’ll appreciate it one day…

DS made a best friend before he was two. He’s always been the kind of child to single out one BFF rather than play to the crowd, and this other little boy wasn’t only in his class at nursery, he lived just down the road – they played together in the park every day once nursery was done.

But then, when the boys were two and a half, the friend moved to the US.

And I – shoot me now – I lied. “He’s on holiday,” I told DS as he searched the park each day for his friend. I hoped that, after the first three months, he’d forget his friend and move on.

But he didn’t.

So, after three months of sobbing, “I miss X!” I admitted that the friend had actually decided to stay in the States.

“I want to go America,” said DS (fat chance, I thought).

But then amazing news – the friend was coming back to Dubai on holiday, 18 months after leaving. I wondered whether DS – who has truly moved on now – would care.

DS cared. He was beyond excited all week before the scheduled play date. But I couldn’t let go of my scepticism. They won’t remember each other; they’ll be shy; they won’t like each other anymore… I couldn’t have been more wrong. Within seconds of seeing each other they were playing like the past 18 months hadn’t happened; like they’d never been separated at all.

Now I’m working on the mum to move back to Dubai…  well, with a friendship that special, wouldn’t you?

Written by mrsdubai

May 20, 2013 at 5:59 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sweet! I sure hope they stay 🙂

    The Vanilla Housewife

    May 20, 2013 at 8:20 pm

  2. A very nice and touching story.

    M. Baumeister

    May 21, 2013 at 12:18 pm

  3. aww that’s heartbreakingly sweet.

  4. definitely worth a try. So many plusses for Dubai, especially if you move back home. Sell it to her again! Mxx

    matshila

    May 21, 2013 at 4:37 pm

  5. Following your blog for a while I decided to let a comment today.. why not after all ?
    This is a touching story and trying worth it =)
    I must be an expat’ french mum in Dubai one day (the sooner the better..) and have no doubt this situation could be mine.

    Becky

    May 22, 2013 at 1:24 pm


Leave a Reply

