Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

DD and the manmade-fabric school shirt

with one comment

I was telling DD last night that she must wash carefully under her arms because, after a day in her poly-crap school shirt (why can’t they make them in 100% cotton?) with a polyester blazer over the top, she can get a little pongy.

Fact of life: Hot country + polycotton shirt = sweaty child.

But then I don’t want to give her a complex about it, so I started explaining that she only smells, a bit, because the school shirt’s not a natural fibre.

“It’s made from a manmade fabric,” I told her. “Not a natural one. It’ll make anyone’s armpits smell – even the tooth fairy’s. If it were down to me, I’d make your school uniform in cotton because it doesn’t make you smell.”

“It’s the fabric,” I added, “not you.”

I was desperate not to give her a complex. But it’s a fine balance between not saying anything and teaching her why she needs to wash properly.

“Is it still called manmade fabric if it’s made by women?” she asked. “Or is that called lady-made?”

Good point, I thought. And what about those school uniforms made by children in child-labour sweatshops? I didn’t say that, though. She’s only eight and it was bedtime.

“Maybe it should be called human-made fabric,” she suggested. “Then everyone’s covered.”

Written by mrsdubai

May 8, 2013 at 7:55 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Clever girl!

    Was Living Down Under

    July 12, 2013 at 6:03 pm


Leave a Reply

