Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

A snapshot of life as a stay-at-home mum

with 6 comments

DH writes from a conference he’s at in the south of France (I know, seriously, the south of bloody France):  “Hi darling, how are you?”

Me, from home:  “Glad the week’s over.  How about you?”

This is the cruise ship, Med and palm trees shot from DH's room. Am I jealous? Yes. Do I want to be there? Yes.

This is the cruise ship, Med and palm trees shot from DH’s room. Am I jealous? Yes. Do I want to be there? Yes.

DH sends me a couple of photos of the view from his room: “I’ve just checked in. That’s my view.”

I’m looking at the photos – they’re all palm trees, Art Deco architecture and bright blue Mediterranean Sea. I can even see a cruise ship anchored offshore in one of them.

Me: “Looks gorgeous. It’s been a tough week; I’ve been working till 11 every night. Obviously up at 5.50am to do the school run. Can’t wait for you to get back.”

DH writes: “Oh, hold on. Got to go, they’ve just told me I’m moving to a suite…”

Messaging resumes the next day – Saturday.

DH: “Hello, conference is finished. Suite’s gorgeous! I’m sitting in Cannes old town, having a beer. So what are you up to?”

Me: “Oh you know. Usual Saturday. Screaming loud kids’ birthday party. Now I’ve just dragged two bickering children round the supermarket, fighting with them all the way. When are you back?”

DH: “After the weekend.”

Happy days.

Written by mrsdubai

May 7, 2013 at 8:25 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is my life

    Maha

    May 7, 2013 at 9:15 pm

  2. DH is a consultant. There are days when both my 6yr old and 7yr old make me want to crawl into a corner with a bottle of wine.

    M

    May 7, 2013 at 9:46 pm

  3. I’m jealous for you. So. Not. Fair!

    Mom's Living Leaner

    May 7, 2013 at 9:50 pm

  4. Does he get a day off when he gets back? Then, you can plot your revenge!

    TK

    May 9, 2013 at 12:26 pm

  5. You know how I found your page? By searching for “housewife and travelling husband”. I wanted to know how other housewives feel when their husbands travel. And I must say, I think I can relate to you very well in this matter.

    Immary

    September 9, 2013 at 6:03 am


Leave a Reply

