Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The tooth fairy: An endangered species?

with one comment

Last night, the tooth fairy made her eighth visit to our house.  I was saying goodnight to DD, making a mental note not to forget the money, when she said, tooth fairy

“Mummy, is the tooth fairy really real? Like, a real fairy comes? Or is it just you putting money under my pillow and taking my tooth?”

I know she’s suspected this for the last two teeth and she’s probably old enough now for me just to come clean – but I have DS to think about. She’s had eight magical visits from La Fairie Des Teeth – I don’t want it to be ruined for him before he’s even had one.

“Why do you ask?” I said. “Don’t you believe in her?”

“Yes…… I… do,” she said. “But some people don’t?”

“Well, all that matters is that you do. She exists.” (In your imagination, I added, crossing my fingers.)

But then came the moment of the dreaded tooth/cash exchange. I’d asked DD to put the tooth close to the edge of the pillow to “make it easier for the tooth fairy”.

“But she’s a fairy?” DD had retorted in a “der” voice. “She flies! She can do anything.”

DD placed the tooth under the centre of her pillow and plonked her head right on top – a position she was still in when I crept into her room at 10pm to do the deed. I did it as stealthily as I could, balancing on three toes and sliding my hand like a snake under the pillow, but there was a crackle or two of the letter she’d left for TF and then, when I got back to my room, I wondered if she’d actually been faking sleep.

I crept back in and looked at her. She’d changed position, her knees were drawn up. Was she smiling?  I went back to my room.

But I couldn’t settle. I had that sinking, quicksand feeling that I’d been caught out; that she’d seen the whole exchange. I went back to her room. “DD,” I whispered, watching her carefully for a tell-tale flicker of the eyelids in the light from the hall. “DD?”

No response. Did I get away with it? I had to wait till morning.

“Did the tooth fairy come last night?” I asked, casually, when she came in to say good morning.

“Yeah,” she said, with equal nonchalance. “15. Can I have toast for breakfast?”

She wasn’t telling – and I wasn’t asking. I wonder how tooth nine will go.

Written by mrsdubai

May 6, 2013 at 9:40 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fantastic story, it reminds me when my kids were still believing in the tooth fairy when they were so little. I had to sneak in their room, and my heart was racing… afraid to be caught. magical moment for the LO.

    Maha

    May 6, 2013 at 10:19 pm


Leave a Reply

