Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

It just takes one comment

with 6 comments

Have you ever noticed how it can take just one comment to ruin an outfit forever?

An example: I was wearing my favourite jeans a while ago. They’re not boot-cut – they’re a full-on flare. But, with hips the proportion of mine, I tend to think the flare balances out my silhouette a little. Kate Moss, I ain’t. In a nutshell, I think they’re my most flattering jeans.

The flare - a true friend to ladies with hips

The flare – a true friend to ladies with hips

I also feel a little smug about them because I bought them just before I got pregnant with DS, which makes them about five years old, and I do love a bit of longevity in my wardrobe.

So, two summers ago, I was beginning to think they were a bit dated; a bit too on the flarey side; that I may need to downsize the flare to a more subtle boot-cut. But then I wore them on a holiday with my friend A, who is the epitome of effortless style. At the airport, she said how much she liked them. That comment bought the jeans two more years. Every time I doubted them, I remembered A’s comment and strode out full of flarey confidence.

But then I wore the jeans to meet a man. A man who is not DH. A man who has no kids, who dates skinny Russian models young enough to be my daughter, and who has no concept of how (or why) one would balance out a post-childbirth, size 12 hip.

I wore the flares with a Breton top, a jaunty scarf, a wedge and a Prada tote. I thought I looked okay – on the classic side of fashion, but okay for a 42-year-old mum.

“Baggy jeans?” he said, raising an eyebrow (I must point out at this point he was in board shorts himself, but I’m far too polite to pass comment on that. Board shorts!).

But still, with that comment – “Baggy jeans?” – he murdered my flares; he cut them to shreds. I’ve not been able to wear them since.

You see, I may love them, but if the outside world – the world that doesn’t understand the hip-to-flare ratio of a mother – sees them as “baggy” in a world that bows to the altar of skinny, what chance do they have?

Nada.

Other comments that have decimated my wardrobe/style:

“Those shoes are looking a bit tired these days.”  – DH on a pair of my “old favourite” neutral wedges.

“You’re not wearing that dress again?” – Both Gerlie and DD on my seven-year-old black linen maxi-dress, which, to be fair, is now grey and has bald patches.

“I’ve never seen your hair look so awful.  It looks like straw.” – My mum on my blonde highlights that went from a few strands of golden to full-on, dried-out, beach-blonde over the course of five years.  Needless to say, I’m now brunette.

Written by mrsdubai

April 22, 2013 at 6:11 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well people are down right rude sometimes, especially when you think that you look good, and you get a surprising comment from someone……. I say you wear what you like, and i wear what I think is good for me.

    Parisa Noman Khan

    April 22, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    • I think sometimes we don’t see ourselves clearly. In every case I mention , the commentator has been right and it’s been the wake-up call I’ve needed to et out of my comfort zone and freshen up my look! So – not all bad…. xox

      mrsdubai

      April 23, 2013 at 5:48 pm

  2. Oh God, how insensitive of him and brings to mind a famous quote, ‘They may forget what you said, but they will never forget how you made them feel. ” Carl Buechner. Sometimes intentional, maybe just careless, but always hurtful. It took one sensitive remark for me to end up in Eating Disorder Unit. People should be more mindful and perhaps take some lessons in basic etiquette. You did not come up with a comeback, perhaps you didn’t wanted to make things worst.

    Maha Khan

    April 22, 2013 at 6:51 pm

  3. Hello Maha, yes he was lacking in sensitivity, but the point is, he was right. I needed to hear from someone else that my jeans had had their day or I’d never have retired them. Sorry to hear about the Eating Disorder Unit 😦 xxx

    Mrs Dubai

    April 22, 2013 at 8:32 pm

  4. Always trust Mum to tell you the brutal honest truth!
    Bring back the flares though – it’s all the fashion rage at the moment. Apparently.
    😉

    Bestof2sisters

    April 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm


Leave a Reply

