Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

On travelling vicariously

with 5 comments

I achieved a first at the weekend: I sailed through the Suez Canal. I went through in a convoy of 20 ships and it was fantastic, not at all how I imagined it.

Well, that's Suez done. Where next? [Pic credit: Telegraph.co.uk]

Well, that’s Suez done. Where next? [Pic credit: Telegraph.co.uk]

The best bit was, it cost me nothing and I did it all from my study at home in Dubai. You may remember that my mum left Dubai on a cruise? Well, I found out that there’s a webcam on her ship – my initial plan was to get her to wave to me from the deck each day, but then I realised that I could get great views from the ship as the webcam is high up and facing forward.

So I started to log on each day – I saw sunrises and sunsets, ports and miles of open ocean. I sailed through pirate-infested waters with all the lights on the ship off after dark – and then we got to the Suez Canal and it struck me that I could almost literally sail through it with mum. So I did.

It’s been a great way to see what’s she’s been doing on her three-week voyage. But there is one problem: She’s still not given me a wave!

Written by mrsdubai

April 17, 2013 at 7:59 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It would be fabulous if you could blog more often:)

    Maha Khan

    April 18, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    • Thanks Maha. I try to do 3-4 a week for you! xox

      mrsdubai

      April 22, 2013 at 6:16 pm

      • Thank you….

        and I promise to like all your posts and reply promptly.

        Maha Khan

        April 22, 2013 at 6:52 pm

  2. Hi please check my article regarding the visit to Kish Island, it will be very useful for people who fly there for visa change.

    http://blog.rimazrauf.com/flying-to-kish-island-from-dubai-for-visa-change/

    Rimaz Rauf

    April 20, 2013 at 3:49 pm

  3. I tried to wave – not allowed up there! Didn’t realise you were stalking me all the way home – glad I behaved well! And I think you may have seen a whole lot more from up there than I did from the deck!!! 🙂

    Kate

    April 26, 2013 at 1:34 am


Leave a Reply

