Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Travelling in style

with 6 comments

Every month, in the type of magazine that I sometimes read, you get an article entitled something like “Travelling in style”. In it, some wispy thin woman with no children – or a desperately rich older woman with grown children – talks about how they pack for a trip. 

"Those were the days, my friend..."

“Those were the days, my friend…”

It always leaves me incensed.

I thought, instead, I would answer the questions on behalf of most mothers of small children.

What are your top packing tips?
Magazine reply: Roll my capsule wardrobe of Ghost separates to get more in and arrive without any creasing.
My reply:  Remember everything that you need, including night nappies, the baby monitor, Nurofen Junior and insect bite cream. Anything else is a bonus.

What’s your go-to plane outfit?
Magazine reply: A cashmere sweater, jeans, cashmere socks and a cashmere throw in a capsule palette of neutrals.
My reply: Anything that’s clean and doesn’t give me muffin top. Bonus for clothes that won’t show the dirt after DS has shed remnants of disgusting in-flight pizza and melted M&Ms all over it.

What are your holiday essentials?
Magazine reply: A handful of “fun” Melissa Odabash bikinis.
My reply: Tickets, money and passports. Husband, suitcases, children.  

What’s your pre-holiday beaut routine?
Magazine reply: A series of facials, a Fake Bake tan, a mani-ped in this season’s “coral” and extra sessions with my personal trainer.
My reply: Leg- and bikini-waxing so I don’t scare the children.

How do you stay fresh on a long-haul flight?
Magazine reply: No make-up, Elizabeth Arden 8-Hour cream, no sleeping tablets and no alcohol.
My reply: As much gin and/or champagne as possible chased with as much Sauvignon Blanc as possible. Headphones in so I can’t hear the children.

How do you spend your time in the air?
Magazine reply: Sleeping, working or – guilty laugh – watching a movie!
My reply: Stopping the kids from fighting; trying to get the kids to eat the pseudo pizza; replacing headphones that have slipped off small heads; accompanying the children on loo trips; sighing a lot; and, finally, disowning the children before running around the cabin screaming silently into my pashmina.

Happy days.

Written by mrsdubai

April 9, 2013 at 10:18 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG I am laughing so hard!! How true this is! Thanks for a good giggle!

    Dena Barrie

    April 9, 2013 at 11:11 pm

  2. the screaming into the pashmina bit had me guffawing!

    Britney of Arabia

    April 10, 2013 at 11:09 am

  3. It’s like those “What’s in my handbag” posts people do — complete lies! love the post. 🙂

  4. Loved this! So funny how different ‘magazine reality’ is to real life. I especially agree with the outfit choice…anything that doesn’t show my son’s in-flight meal mishaps on it.

    Happily Whatever

    April 10, 2013 at 11:44 am

  5. Wonderful information, thanks a lot for sharing kind of information. And let me tell you, your website gives the best and the most interesting information. Thanks a ton once again. best regards from Cleaners in Dubai

    Cleaning Services Dubai

    April 17, 2013 at 12:27 pm


Leave a Reply

