Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Mum’s leaving… on a cruise ship

with 4 comments

Mum left today, after three weeks in Dubai. It’s never easy, that day when your mum leaves, is it?

After spending every waking hour of the past three weeks with her at my side, I feel so bereft now she’s left. The house feels empty and I miss having her around (though she never believes me when I say that).

This year I took mum not to the airport but to Dubai Cruise Terminal - she's sailing back to Blighty! Here's her ship docked in Dubai....

This year I took mum not to the airport but to Dubai Cruise Terminal – she’s sailing back to Blighty! Here’s her ship docked in Dubai….

And, having visitors of any sort staying means you do more interesting things, too, doesn’t it – when someone’s paid £400 to fly here, they rarely want bad TV on the sofa every night, do they?

We didn’t do as much touristy stuff this year as we were busy preparing for DS’s 4th birthday party (25 kids at home anyone? Games, food, cakes, bouncy castle and party bags) as well a massive family wedding that involved days of commitments, but we still managed to visit Dubai Miracle Garden, go to the theatre, potter about Madinat Jumeirah and Souk Bahar, dine overlooking The Dubai Fountain, take a scenic desert drive, grab some bargains in Outlet Mall, get our nails done and enjoy several lazy lunches at the Els Club.

So today I’m in that strange zone where mum was here this morning, we had breakfast together, hung out together, then she was in the car, and then she was gone and suddenly, abruptly, it was just me and the kids in the car for the first time in ages.

As I write this, I can hear Gerlie upstairs already, stripping the guest bed and putting everything back in its place. Tomorrow, life will, strangely, be back to normal. (Sob.)

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 😦 I can imagine how empty and quiet everything seems now, it is always hard to say good-bye again. My parents are also staying with me at the moment, and I am already dreading the moment they leave. Luckily, we skype a lot, so we always say, “See you the day after tomorrow on Skype!” which is always a huge relief.
    I hope you won’t be too sad for too long!

    Kristin

    April 4, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    • Thank you. I’m kind of in limbo as she left on a ship. She’s not reached home so there’s no closure. I keep tracking her ship and she’s only off the East coast!

      mrsdubai

      April 7, 2013 at 10:24 pm

  2. Ah, I know the feeling…and why does it never get any easier, even after a decade of being away! Hope she has a lovely cruise home, and sails back into spring (can’t believe it’s so cold over there!) Hugs xx

    Circles in the Sand

    April 4, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    • Thanks…. I’m off to buy a winter coat for my trip to London next week O_O

      mrsdubai

      April 7, 2013 at 10:25 pm


Leave a Reply

