Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Careers advice for my daughter

with 4 comments

I always feel that my school let me down somewhat when it came to careers advice. Back in the ‘80s, I, like everyone else,  filled out a Jiig Cal form (remember those?) and my most suitable jobs – bear in mind that this is me, with my undisputed love of creative writing – came back as accountant and tax inspector (I was very good at maths; Jiig Cal ignored the fact that I didn’t like maths).

A successful career, DD, depends as much on smart choices as it does on hard work

A successful career, DD, depends as much on smart choices as it does on hard work

And then the school careers advisor, after telling me to study German and Business Studies at university (I chose and loved psychology), failed to point out that careers in IT and law paid a lot better than those in journalism, a fact that caused me much misery in my 20s.

Still, what’s done is done.

But nowadays I’m wondering what to tell DD about her future career. She’s grown out of the “I’m going to be a princess” stage, but still hankers after a job as a rock star (even though she hates practising her guitar). Her most sensible idea to date has been an art teacher – she’d probably be quite good, given she’s both good at art and a bit bossy.

But the other night DH came up with what has to be the perfect career formula.

“What you need,” he said, as we tried to fit all our holiday plans into a) the budget and b) the lack of available days DH has off work, “is to be a school teacher (holidays) married to an Emirates pilot (cheap tickets), with a dad who’s high up in a smart hotel chain (cheap rooms).”

Now why don’t the careers teachers tell you that?

Written by mrsdubai

April 3, 2013 at 6:42 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the way how you end your posts, they are always funny! 🙂

    lovemyarts

    April 3, 2013 at 7:01 pm

  2. Ha, love the advice! That would indeed be a smart move!

    Kristin

    April 3, 2013 at 11:34 pm

  3. That’s just perfect! Serioudly though, even today, good career advice is hard to come by.

    TK

    April 4, 2013 at 4:02 pm


Leave a Reply

