Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The art of “suspension” – or paying it forward

with 4 comments

I’ve become aware this week of the concept of “suspended coffee.” For those of you of an arty persuasion, this doesn’t mean hanging your latte from the ceiling in some sort of emotionally-expressive outburst, but buying a coffee up-front for someone else who can’t afford one.

So, for example, you totter into Starbucks and buy two coffees, one “suspended”, and you leave only with your coffee. Later, someone who can’t afford a coffee comes in and asks if there are any suspended coffees – if there are, he gets to take one for free. In the States, the system is used by the homeless.

I’m all over this like a rat up a palm tree. I love it, love it, love it. I love to pay things forward – it makes me smile all day, and who doesn’t want that?

So I was thinking, how can we do this in Dubai? Obviously there are a lot of people who can’t afford a posh coffee-house coffee here – but would they ever set foot in a coffee shop in, say, Dubai Mall? 

Imagine the joy you'd get for leaving a "suspended" Prada tote for a needy housewife.... (black & tan, please!!)

Imagine the joy you’d get from leaving a “suspended” Prada tote for a needy housewife…. (black & tan, please!!)

Of course not.

And, if you go to the coffee and tea shops in the kind of places where these people hang out, 1) you’d have to buy 850 coffees, not one, and 2) it would then become a more of a charity donation than an odd favour for one person.

I can’t think of a way around this except, perhaps, if the whole plan moved upscale for Dubai. I can just imagine it: “Hi, I’ll take the Prada tote in black and tan – and another one suspended…”

Wouldn’t that be amazing for all of us with fashion eyes bigger than our wallets!

Written by mrsdubai

April 1, 2013 at 12:44 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This suspended coffee idea has just made the news here too. Great idea.

    Ellie at Emerald Pie

    April 1, 2013 at 2:32 pm

  2. Yes please, suspended prada wallet for me. 🙂

    Pinay flying high

    April 1, 2013 at 4:04 pm

  3. Haha, love the idea! 😀 And I wouldn’t be ashamed to accept those suspended designer bags / shoes / sports cars and what not! (Btw, I wasn’t familiar with the concept of suspended coffee, in Seattle the homeless always got their coffee for free at any Starbucks as far as I know, but then it was only plain coffee, of course.)

    Kristin

    April 1, 2013 at 10:37 pm

  4. What I do when I am travelling, is just give the rest of my unwanted soda/fries that come with meals to beggars. This, too, won’t work in Dubai for a variety of reasons: very few of us don’t drive and if you do walk in the marina/jbr/jlt area you are hardly likely to pass someone in need. But its aa good experiement to try (I don’t drive). Who’s in with me?

    Mahoush

    April 3, 2013 at 10:35 pm


Leave a Reply

