Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The patronising salesman

with 5 comments

This morning I was in a showroom that sells stone flooring tiles.  I need to get our front path repaved as, after eight years of Gulf summers, the current tiles have given up the ghost. DH, quite rightly, has washed his hands of the whole job. At this stage of our marriage, he works and I run the house (or, as he prefers to put it, “I make the money and you spend it”). 

The front path's given up the ghost - and, sorry mate, but it's my job to approve budget - and supplier!

The front path’s given up the ghost – and, sorry mate, but it’s my job to approve budget – and supplier!

It seemed, though, that I’d chosen one of the most expensive stone in the showroom.  And for some reason, the salesman didn’t like that one bit.

“We have cheap Omani marble here,” he said, kicking a slab of dull, white stone I wouldn’t put under our rubbish bin. “Use that – a quarter the price.”

“But I really like the other one,” I said. “How much will 15 square metres come to?” But still he wouldn’t level with me.

“It’s different depending on whether you get pre-cut tiles, or you have the stone cut to order,” he said.

“So tell me the options,” I said, pencil poised to make notes. “What sizes do the tiles come in?”

“Madam,” he said, sighing, and I realised we were finally getting to the crux of the matter. “You get budget approval from boss at home for before I talk to you about prices. If husband approves AED 6,000, you come back and we talk sizes and costs.”

Seriously?

What a contrast it was to the greasy garage I’d been in half an hour before. As part of my morning’s work as housewife, DH had asked me to get two new tyres put on his car. I was kind of expecting patronising and/or sexist behaviour from the grease monkeys, as is often the case when assertive white women stride in demanding high-performance Pirellis – but those men couldn’t have been nicer.

As all four of them lined up to wave me off, one said ever so nicely, “Thank you for first-time visit our workshop, madam.”

Another said, “We have nice coffee-tea machine. You tried coffee-tea?”

“Yes, I tried, thank you,” I said. “Very nice coffee.”

“Come again soon,” said a third. “Any time wheel-balancing – always good job for madam.”

Now that’s more like it.

Edited to add: I eventually got my paving stones from this salesman. He quoted me AED 400 per square metre. I didn’t trust him. I sent the contractor down to buy it – and he got the same stone from the same guy for AED 275 per square metre. O_O

Written by mrsdubai

March 26, 2013 at 6:11 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your four little grease monkeys have put a smile on my face. Now I am going to make a pot of tea-coffee. 🙂

    Kellie

    March 27, 2013 at 10:54 am

    • Tea-coffee is the most delicious drink, especially when so unexpected!

      mrsdubai

      March 27, 2013 at 5:48 pm

  2. all those machines make tea-coffee….. the coffee tastes of tea and the tea tastes of coffee but they both taste like good service

    Peter Draper

    March 28, 2013 at 9:02 am

  3. I’m the type of person who refuses to buy from a shop that gave her bad customer service. Case in point, I will never buy from Miu Miu after having been looked up and down with disdain then denied entry on my birthday after a 7 hour flight to New York (I may have been wearing leggings).

    Cue me skipping past their store with that season’s latest Mulberry Bays.

    In hindsight, I wish I had stuck my tongue out at them on my way past.


Leave a Reply

