Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Overheard in the Year 3 playground

with 6 comments

For those unsure, I’m talking about 7/8-year-olds. My mum, out from England, was with me. While I would have thought this was quite an average conversation for Dubai’s Year 3 girls, mum couldn’t believe her ears, so here it is:

 Girl 1: “So you’ re going in a stretch limo for your birthday?”

Pink stretch limo for hire in Dubai - but it's a bit "been there, done that" for most 7-year-olds

Pink stretch limo for hire in Dubai – but it’s a bit “been there, done that” for most 7-year-olds

Girl 2: “Yeah…”

Girl 1: “How long is the limo?”

Girl 2: “From here to here.” [Runs about 10 metres.]

Girl 1:  “Oh that’s nothing. My brother’s? He had it when he turned five? Was like this long!” [runs about 20 metres.]

[New girl enters playground stage left.]  “Oh, I’ve been in a stretch limo, like, three times. I’m so over limos now. They’re so bo-ring. Stretch limos are for babies.”

Girl 2:  “But were they pink? Mine’s going to be pink.”

Another girl runs up.

Girl 2:  “Oh hi X.” Turns to me. “X is just back from London. She went there for the weekend.”

Me: “For the weekend?”

Miss X: “Yeah. I went to see 1 Direction live.” [she tries really hard to say it casually but I can see she loved it.]

“Wow.” [I’m impressed. I mean, seriously, that is one jet-setting 8-year-old.] “Was it good?”

Miss X: “Yeah. I guess.” [Shrugs.] “I got all their signatures and everything. Yeah, good weekend, I s’pose.”

So I listen to this and I wonder: What on earth will they be like when they’re 16?

Written by mrsdubai

March 20, 2013 at 9:36 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL, stark contrast to the school playground here in the UK.

  2. When they are 16 they are going to have seen everything and done everything already, and be very hard to please! They probably won’t be very pleasant people…

  3. WOW! When I was that age, all I brag about was how I was able to escape from taking a forced afternoon nap.

    Pinay Flying High

    March 20, 2013 at 11:54 pm

  4. Scarey!!! 😉

    Ellie at Emerald Pie

    March 21, 2013 at 1:51 am

  5. Oh my… Oh my.

    Kenna

    March 22, 2013 at 11:22 pm

  6. Woow what a beautiful Limousine is this….Superb Pink…I like it

    Dubai Limousine

    August 1, 2014 at 4:55 pm


Leave a Reply

